The Ugly Inner Critic

I keep a daily journal.  This year I started drawing in it too.

Yesterday, I created a bird that I really didn’t like very well.  I was thinking that maybe I shouldn’t post it because I didn’t think it was very good.  The ugly inner critic was working over time.  So I decided to draw my inner critic in my journal:

My Inner Critic

It made me laugh!

I realized that when I create art every day, I’m not going to like everything I make and that is OK.  I still want to share it with you on my blog.  As an artist, I believe that it is the process of creating – every day – good or bad – in my journal or on paper that I learn to become the artist I want to be.

So here is my bird:

Bird in black frame

The bird was a Gelli-print.  I glued it to the glass and then painted around it with acrylic paints.  I drew the clouds into the wet paint with the end of a paint brush.  I then framed it.  I hope to add beads to the frame some day.

4 responses to “The Ugly Inner Critic

  1. He looks a lot like my ugly inner critic. Thanks for today’s blog

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your inner critic……sooooooo cute and fun totally different and has a “spark” that really shines! Your work is wonderful,!! I love love love the song birds! Thank you so much for posting your work! Keep it up please!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you Carol! 😊😊😊

    Like

  4. Pingback: March SMADS #1 | Breezen Through Life

Leave a Reply

