Raven or Crow?

I painted a rainbow bird yesterday.  I got to wondering if it was a raven or  a crow.  Do you know the difference?

Lesson 5 My Rainbow Bird

According to Audubon.org –  “These two species, common ravens and American crows, overlap widely throughout North America, and they look quite similar. But with a bit of practice, you can tell them apart.

You probably know that ravens are larger, the size of a red-tailed hawk. Ravens often travel in pairs, while crows are seen in larger groups. Also, watch the bird’s tail as it flies overhead. The crow’s tail feathers are basically the same length, so when the bird spreads its tail, it opens like a fan. Ravens, however, have longer middle feathers in their tails, so their tail appears wedge-shaped when open.

Listen closely to the birds’ calls. Crows give a cawing sound. But ravens produce a lower croaking sound.”

So what do you think I painted?

11 responses to “Raven or Crow?

  1. rea;;y good painting! Raven?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It looks to nice to be a raven or crow – maybe a maven crone bird!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you painted something gorgeous, by any name. Really beautiful, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you Laura! When I’m painting, I see mistakes but when I finish, I think it looks OK! Does this happen to you when you create?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG, all the time. Well, and even after I’m finished, lol. This is really beautiful. It made me say “wow” when I saw it! 😀 Congrats! I hope to be able to do such gorgeous things with watercolor one day.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, thank you! I think you will! I’m taking a online watercolor class with Val Webb. This is really helping me. 😊

    Like

  7. You have to stop making so many birds that I like! 😉 I love the wash of colors and the little trailing spots and lines to the rear. Kind of like magic dripping off its feathers in flight.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you Cubbyholes! I LoVe your description! ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  9. Pingback: A Craven | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

