A Noteworthy Bird

I had a dream about my mom the other night.  We were shopping and laughing and she was eating a lemon ice cream cone.  My mom loved lemon meringue pie.

So I created this bird for her:

A Noteworthy Bird

My mom had beautiful handwriting.   She wrote the best thank-you cards.

Note:  I included the last handwritten thank-you card I received from my mom behind my bird.

When I was creating this bird, I was reminded of how she taught me to write handwritten thank-you notes.  It is rare to receive one these days…

Note:  The body of my bird is from an old Etiquette book on writing thank-you notes.  Here is a close-up so you can see:

close-up of bird

My mom always had a beautiful garden of flowers, bushes and trees in her yard.  We used to walk around her yard and she would tell me the names of her plants. She kept a journal of her plants and the date she planted them.

Note:  The beak of my bird is from her journal.  One of the flowers she listed was a Mum.

My mom was always giving me her advice – her “2 cents.”  I didn’t like it much when I was younger but now I miss talking to her.

Note:  The “2-cent stamp” on my bird’s face. 

Mom took short-hand in college.  I’m thankful I didn’t have to learn it.  I just had to learn how to type.  Computers were just starting to be used when I went to college.  Yes, I know admitting this does age me a bit…

Note:  The bird’s tail is from a short-hand book.

My mom was a wonderful cook.  I really miss being treated to one of her home-cooked meals.

Note:  The words from the songbook that my bird is standing on:

song notes close-up

My mom loved nature and the outdoors.  She is one of the reasons I love birds!

Note:  My mom had open heart surgery in January of 1999.  She had a stroke and was unable to recover fully.  She passed away in July of that year.  I miss her and think of her often.

May this bird remind you of happy memories with your own mom.  I would love to hear about them!

13 responses to “A Noteworthy Bird

  1. What a lovely stroll down memory lane, with your Mother, who sounds like an amazing woman. Seems you take after her!

    Like

  2. Extremely creative and charming. Yes, thank you notes are a lost art. Your mother sounds like a lovely person. I like the little bird’s knees. : ) Among other things – so many sweet touches.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. PS You put a lot of love into your work

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you kindly. Your kind words warmed my heart today! ❤️

    Like

  5. What a beautiful tribute and a fun way to remember your mom! I miss mine, too. Maybe I should make something like this. 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  6. glenmarf@gmail.com

    Jill…what a heartwarming and loving tribute to your mom. I wish I had saved so many things from pat memories and relationships. Thank you for sharing your poignant stories of your mother. Mothers seem to grow more precious as we age and view them in retrospect.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I would love to see what you create Cubbyholes as a tribute to your mom. And thank you for your kind words! ❤️

    Like

  8. Thanks Glenmar! I have a hard time throwing things away. And I agree with you that our mothers do grow more precious as we age – maybe we grow a bit wiser too? I’d like to believe we do. 😊

    Like

  9. Jill- so heartfelt! Such a gift of love from your mother to you and back to your Mum 💗. My father taught me to love birds and flowers. He also is hanging out in heaven. 💛🌺 ThankYou for such a thoughtful piece shared here.

    Like

  10. I’m a tad late to the party, but, better late than never, I hope. Your mom has been gone a few more years than mine and I have such visceral moments of missing her as I can tell you do yours. Your lovely tribute to your mom so mimics my artistic endeavors, my love of books and words and, birds, and putting them all together. Love your work, keep those creative juices flowing, nice to meet you in these “trenches”. Peggy

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hi Peggy! It’s never too late to make a new friend! 😊 Thank you for your lovely comments. ❤️ And sorry to hear you have lost your mom too. They do live forever in our hearts! 💕🌈

    Like

Leave a Reply

