Color Makes Me Happy

Writing assignment for Day 3 is to write – empty my mind without editing.  No crossing out or correcting spelling.  Just write for 15 minutes about 3 songs that influence me – I cannot choose them as favorites of all time but these 3 songs speak to me:

Pharrell Williams song, “Happy”

Cindy Lauper, “True Colors”

Michael Franks, “Dragonfly Summer”

I was thinking about what makes me HAPPY.  The color orange, creating art –  experimenting, playing with techniques, taking online classes, connecting with other creative people through Facebook and on my blog.

Color makes me happy!  Love all colors, the brighter the better!  I like orange the best probably because to me, it is a happy color.  My mom liked this color too.  Plus I look good wearing this color.  I like the color blue too as it reminds me of blue skies and summertime.  Floating on the lake in our boat and looking up at a brilliant blue cloudless sky with dragonflies dancing in a soft warm breeze.  And I like many other colors too.  I like the bright green of moss growing in the woods, spreading itself like lush carpet over rocks and across the path.  The yellow-green leaves of a birch tree.  And then there is my love of birds.

Hummingbird in color pencil

I think my favorite is a hummingbird.  Its brilliant colors on such a small body.  One has to be paying attention to see a hummingbird as it moves and darts about so quickly.  Hummers remind me of summer too since I see them a lot at the lake feeding on red flowers – Salvias and Geraniums.  I love the color purple too – sunsets, rainbows, Lilacs.

And there is yellow – another happy color.  Sunshine – ah, love to feel the sunshine on my face.  Like how warming it is as I sit in my living room writing.  I like walking around without a coat outside.  I like how it makes the flowers grow and the trees bud in the Spring.

Then there is Red.  Red, White and Blue!  What is there not to like about red?  Red lips and tongue from a popsicle, red balloons at a birthday party.  Red roses to celebrate an anniversary.

I do like color and I love using color in my art to create a mood.  I can always learn more about color too.

What are your true colors?  What colors make you happy and want to dance?  What colors do you like to wear?  What colors help calm and soothe you?  And what birds do you like because of their coloring?

If you are looking for something to make you HAPPY today, then google – Pharrell Williams, YouTube video, “Happy.”   Hope it brings a smile to your face!

13 responses to “Color Makes Me Happy

  1. Love your humming bird! The cutest!! and this is wonderful- It makes me happy to read and think on color- It makes me happy too- Thanks Jill! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Really cheerful post. Love that “Happy” song. You did a great job! lily

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that song! Our daughter graduated last May and we put that song on her grad mix CD. I really like “True Colors” too. Lovely bird! Happy Bird Day, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You might enjoy this blog https://jcrhumming.wordpress.com/ – a lover of hummingbirds.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your blog is a great challenge! Write each day! Wow!!!
    As I returned to work, I have not enough time to post on blogs and forums. Sorry! But I admire your work on birds! Good luck for your project!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Honeysuckles and Hummingbirds | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

