The Miskito Bird

A little Silliness on a Saturday –

Once upon a time in a magical land, there lived a Miskito bird.  Now this bird was very unusual – even for a magical land.  It was part insect and part bird (called an in-bird).  Its wings were colorful like a butterfly and its beak was long and narrow like a Hummingbird.

Miskito Bird

This in-bird made a loud, annoying, buzzing sound when it flew, much like a Mosquito insect does today.  However, this Miskito did not suck your blood.  Instead, when you heard its loud hum, you instantly craved a Mojito.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mojito

I hope you enjoy reading about the Mojito’s history as much as I did!

I created my bird today by taking a color copy of a doodle I had created previously:

My pattern - colored

I started my doodle with a black, Zig writer ink pen and then colored it with markers and watercolors before I copied it on a Laser color copier.

I then cut-up my copy to create my bird!

Cheers!

20 responses to “The Miskito Bird

  1. This doodling is so amazing and beautiful and the story and magical bird so fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha, so clever and colorful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Only reading about Miskito makes me craving a moskito 🙂
    Lovely little story and bird!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is lovely!! I wish we had these instead if their awful cousins. Lol. Ya know as soon as I saw this I thought of the beautiful hand-painted Mexican pottery. Wouldn’t this make a gorgeous platter? Or maybe some tiles for a back splash?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have been bit by this in-bird. I am craving a mojito! Very beautiful doodle and bird

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Imagine craving a mojito every time this in-bird flew by. Rum sales would sky-rocket.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jill, if everyone “doodled” like this, we’d have a creative revolution on our hands!! Wow, I’m impressed!!! You should doodle more often, this is really gorgeous! Love your bird creation and story too. You’re so creative! Happy Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your art work is beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ohh my gosh, what a great process!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: A Motley Hodgepodge | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

