A Tropical Paradise

Completed gelli deli bird collage

I completed my Gelli Deli Bird Collage from yesterday.  It looks like a tropical paradise to me!

I started my project by gluing random book pages to a canvas board:

Step 1 - paper collage glued to canvas board

Next, I added stencils with acrylic paint and rubber stamps using Royal Purple StazOn ink.

Step 2 - Stencils and rubber stamps

Then I glued torn bits of my own patterned paper:

Step 3 - more paper collage with own paper

I created my own stencils and cut out circles, leaves and birds from my gelli-printed deli paper and glued it down:

Step 4 - added gelli printed deli papers

Repeat with more torn paper – this time I used pages from an old Shorthand book; added a little more acrylic paint and rubber stamps:

Step 5 - add more collage papers, paint and rubber stamps

I added another layer of gelli-printed deli paper and a few more dabs of paint:Step 6 - more gelli deli printed paper and paint

Then to finish my piece, I outlined the deli printed shapes with a black watercolor pencil, wetting it with a brush and smearing it with my finger:Completed gelli deli bird collage

And it’s complete!

I learned some of these techniques by taking an online class with Lynn Whipple, called “The Joy of Collage.”

http://www.carlasonheim.com/the-joy-of-collage-with-lynn-whipple/

19 responses to “A Tropical Paradise

  1. Those are very tropical colors, with that lovely aqua and magenta. Very fun. Gelli-deli, cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantastique ! J’adore !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I adore this! I love that you shared all the steps. I always wonder how people do this! SUPER DELIGHTFUL!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Delightful collage! And thank you for showing the process!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ok, Jill: *in my Emeril voice* Another notch!!! Love this!!! What did you add between last night and tonight’s post? This is freaking awesome. And I agree w Jodi, THANKS for explaining your process!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Also how do you know when to stop?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is the hard part. I have made several of these collages and I am LEARNING to not over do it. Plenty for the eye to see but not over done is my goal. Since my deli paper is patterned and somewhat transparent, I tried not to make it too busy. I hope I succeeded. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Last night it seemed a little busy but now with the black outline, I think it’s just right! I think the birds stand out more now. I find knowing when to stop v v hard. I love this one. Gotta go sleeps!! Congrats on this beautiful artwork and Nightnight.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi Laura! Thanks for making me smile! 😊 It’s been a longgggg day!
    To answer your question, I outlined all the shapes with a black watercolor pencil and smudged with water and fingers to add depth. Something I can do in front of the TV but takes time to do. I also added eyes to the birds with a black marker. 😊🐤❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ok just a normal black WC pencil not WC crayon? I’m wondering how you got it to smudge. This is really sharp and I love the colors!

    Liked by 1 person

    • A black watercolor pencil works the best for me because there is so many layers of glue. Pencil works better is there is less glue. I experimented and found I liked the w/c pencil the best. I have one of those inexpensive water brushes that dampens it, I then blot with a Kleenx and smear with my fingers. Sometimes it takes a couple of tries. 😊

      Like

  9. Great piece, Jill. Lovely colors. You’ve totally made the techniques Lynn taught us your own and taken it further. Thanks for showing the steps as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. LOVE!! Jill, you are an inspiration!! love your blog too!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

