When Life Gives You Rain…

Merry Bird’s Adventure continues…

Merry Bird woke to a gentle rain.  She jumped down from the tree branch she had been resting on and grabbed her umbrella.

Merry with umbrella

As she started on her journey, the rain began to pour from the clouds like water from a faucet.  She did not want to get her pretty boots muddy from the gritty dirt so she took refuge under the leaves of a large oak tree.

Merry saw the Australian Puddle-Jumper, (PJ for short) jumping over a puddle as he approached her about 10 feet away.

PJ

“Tweet tweet,” said Merry to PJ.  “Tweeeeeet Merry!”  Replied PJ in the middle of a hop.  “I just love the rain, don’t you, Merry?”

“Well, not really,” said Merry.  “I like to keep my tail feathers dry.”

“Oh, that is unfortunate!” said PJ.  “I love the rain because it creates puddles and I like leaping over them!  Why don’t you give it a try, Merry?”

“I really don’t know how,” said Merry, feeling apprehensive.  “I don’t have long legs like you.”

“You don’t need long legs!”  Replied PJ with a grin.  “All you need is the desire to have fun.”

“Hmmm,” said Merry, still not convinced.  “What if I land in the puddle?  I don’t want to ruin my boots!”

“Then you just flap your wings, dry your boots and try again!”  Said PJ.  “I believe when life gives you a rainy day, Merry – you play in the puddles!”

“Alright, I will give it a try,” said Merry as she jumped over a small puddle about the size of a watermelon.  PJ danced a joyful jig.  “Yay!  Merry – You did it!”  Said PJ.

Merry replied, “Yes!  And it was exhilarating, PJ!”  So Merry put her umbrella aside and spent the remainder of the day laughing and jumping puddles with PJ.

Here are some quotes I liked about rain:

“Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass…It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

“If you want the rainbow, you’ve got to put up with the rain.”  Dolly Parton

And my favorite with a YouTube video:  “When life gives you rain – you make a slip-N-slide.”   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qYe_V-RzzY

Cheers!

14 responses to “When Life Gives You Rain…

  1. Very fun and cute, so charming

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charming birds and lovely story. PJ is great.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cute story – I love the artwork that goes with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love your crazy merry birds, Jill! They’re beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gorgeous pictures! You definitely need to put these into a picture book. It’s a great experience. Very sweet.😄

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How sweet is this. such lovely humour all the way through. I can see you are going to lighten my heart often.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

