A Northern Flicker

I found this beautiful feather a few years ago:

Northern Flicker Woodpecker feather

And today I looked it up in my book on bird feathers and discovered it was from a Northern Flicker Woodpecker.  I thought it was from a woodpecker but I had no idea that this bird was so beautiful!  I hope you will look it up on the link I provided for you – just click on the underlined word.

Today I decided to make some imaginary feathers with watercolors.  I used a can of compressed air to blow the liquid paint across my paper.  So fun!

Here are my results – the first one is on 300 lb. cold pressed watercolor paper.  I used watercolors and Prismacolor pencils:

brown feather

The second one I used 140 lb. cold pressed watercolor paper.  I added Derwent Inktense pencils after the watercolor:

Red feather

And for the third one, I used 140 lb. hot pressed watercolor paper.  I added water-soluble wax pastels after the watercolor:

Green Feather

Happy Creating!

8 responses to “A Northern Flicker

  1. What a fun feather!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like them all, but love the Inktense version (I know you’re shocked)! Thanks for showing us your experiments, Jill, I always learn something from them. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Your feathers are stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

