The Circus Bird

I completed this collage in 2013 when I was taking an online class from Carla Sonheim, “The Year of the Giraffe.”

flying giraffe

I think the bird riding on the giraffe’s hat is a Kea bird.  Today, I learned that a gathering or group of Kea is called a circus.

Here is a close-up photo of my bird in my collage:

bird on giraffe's head

According to Wikipedia, the Kea is a large species of parrot found in forested and alpine regions of the South Island of New Zealand.  It is the world’s only alpine parrot.  It is a large bird in size – 19 inches long and weighing up to 2 lbs.

Here is a quick sketch I did this morning of a Kea:

Kea bird sketch

Known for their intelligence and curiosity, the Kea is called, “the clown in the mountains.”  It’s urge to explore and manipulate makes the bird a pest for residents and an attraction for tourists.

I did not know when I made this collage in February of 2013 that I would be focusing my art on birds for a whole year.  Maybe this was the beginning of my curiosity:

bird detail on giraffe collage

I find it interesting to see where life leads us on our creative journey.

I am attending Cirque du Soleil’s Varekai on Thursday evening.  I am very excited!  The costuming is spectacular!  I wonder what ideas I will take from this circus for my art!

Happy Creating!

10 responses to “The Circus Bird

  1. More charming work from you…these should go in a book.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love your background for this! It accents your piece so well! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love these collages and hope to do one/some someday – thanks for the ongoing inspiration! Enjoy Cirque de Solei! Look forward to photos?!?? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You just know I LOVE this!! Lovely giraffe of course…but a clown…a bird, with a knickname clown on a giraffe…that is what I am all about!! Enjoy Cirque du Soleil!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

