Hippity-Hop The Robin Goes…

There has been a male Robin singing loudly outside my window in the evenings, trying to attract a female.  I don’t usually pay much attention to the American Robin because they are so common in my area.

His loud cheery song prompted me to create this collage last night:

My Robin in paper collage

I looked at a photo of a real bird, a Robin and pasted a variety of papers together to create this bird.  I like his red breast, don’t you?

I often see Robins in our yard with their head cocked to one side, staring motionless at the ground, waiting for a worm.  Robins eat large numbers of earthworms in the spring and summer as well as insects and some snails.

Robins also eat an enormous variety of fruits.  In the late winter and early Spring, I see Robins eating the crabapples on our backyard tree.  I took a photo today of our crabapple tree in full bloom – so glorious!

The crabapple tree in bloom

I like the poem from this old book:

old book

Hippity-hop the Robin goes,                                                                                 Skipping along on his dainty toes,                                                                                   Pulling up worms with hearty tugs,                                                                        Chasing and catching unwary bugs;                                                                              He has a lovely bright red breast,                                                                                       I think I love the Robin best.

May the cheery song of a Robin brighten your day!

Happy Creating!

7 responses to “Hippity-Hop The Robin Goes…

  1. Adorable! I love your version of the Robin, Jill. You are so talented. I can’t believe how much I look forward to your birds every day 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thanks Jodi! You made my day! 😊😊😊

    Like

  3. It’s true! My day just isn’t complete without checking in here to see what Jill was up to. Peace, love and creative happy hugs to you, Jill!! We love you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you Laura! xoxo❤️🌈🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love this one even more on a larger screen. He reminds me of a flag! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

