The Creativity Zapper

Sometimes when I draw in my journal or elsewhere, it just looks really ugly.  This is when I know the “Creativity Zapper” is lurking over my shoulder:

Creative Zapper

It says things to me like, “You, can’t post that – it’s not good enough.”  Or “What were you thinking when you drew that!”  Or “You call yourself an artist?  Ha!”

It usually shows up when I’m extra tired or feel overwhelmed with life or feeling a little blue.  It isn’t easy trying to be an artist and still have to work at another job plus all the other stuff there is to do…  Yes, it shows up when I’m feeling a little sorry for myself too.

I don’t usually like to share this part of myself with others but I wondered if maybe you have a “Creativity Zapper” in your life too?  I would love to know what it is!

Learning to recognize my “Creative Zapper” when it shows up has helped me to quiet it’s voice in my head.  I now know what this ugly thing looks like so it is easier for me to tell it to go away!

Happy Creating!

19 responses to “The Creativity Zapper

  1. Zap the Zapper – he’s no fun, but your post and illustration are fun (and so true).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Jill – I understand – we all have our days….. Thank you for sharing your “real” ness – we can all relate and understand. Hope you Zapped the Zapper today – but if not, it is ok – don’t let it get you. We would all just say HI if that is all you needed or said for a day 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I agree with C, totally true. I hear him all the time, Jill. (And he is most definitely a man-beast, lol.) I’m the same: when I haven’t been sleeping well, overwhelmed with everything there is to do, both work and home, feeling sorry for myself days – just had one of those Monday, lol. And the art journal page wasn’t great that day. But the journal was there. It became a sounding board for those feelings.

    I love what you’ve done here. You’ve taken those feelings and turned them into something cool, with a lot of visual interest, and something everyone can relate to. This is why I love art, and why it’s changed my life. I was having lots of days like that – way too many, in fact. And art allows me to take the fear, worry, sadness, and turn it into something else. Maybe not beautiful that day, but because I was able to vent those emotions, something beautiful will come another day. Maybe there’s one part of that ugly picture I do like, and I can recycle it into something pretty for tomorrow, too. I’m glad you shared this part of yourself. I thought it was just me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Laura! I needed to hear that from you today. Nice to know I’m not alone with my feelings. I think I haven’t had much time to create for me lately and this is usually when the Zapper shows up… I get to play today and nap. I need both of these! LOL! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jill, I understand completely. I’m really glad you shared your heart, along with your art today! It’s something probably everyone could agree with. That little voice….I just wanna smash him over the head sometimes. 🙂 I’m really glad you will have a chance to play and nap. We need both! Enjoy the day! 😀

        Liked by 2 people

      • Thanks Laura! And I wanted to tell you that Quilting Arts Magazine (June/July issue) has this neat article on “Sweet Little Somethings” – A mixed-media take-along project that looks right up your alley and mine too. There is also results from a reader challenge on flowers that is very inspiring. I don’t know if your library carries this magazine or not but wanted to tell you about it in case you can get it. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Aww, thanks Jill! You’re so sweet. ❤ I will definitely check with the library. I'm so glad you let me know. (I've been wanting to try and sketch random people from life, and it seems the library is a good place to (hopefully) try that without looking like a creeper LOL! Just one more day with my Jill-inspired-art journal!)

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Yep…I’ve got one too…I call her “Trudy” (short for intruder) and she likes to remind me of my inadequacies and limitations. If I am leading a Bible study, she will whisper “Who are you to teach these ladies?” If I am writing something, she will tell me that it’s not worth sharing. When I pick up my camera she sort of chuckles and hints that I am foolishly wasting my time.
    She has backed off a lot since my tendency now is to agree with her about my inadequacies and then thank her for reminding me to go straight to God and thank Him that I am His workmanship (which in the Greek means masterpiece of beautiful piece of artwork) and that He loves it when I joyfully be who He has made me. I don’t need to be impressive…just faithful.
    Glad that you use the gifts you have been given. I know your blog must bring joy and encouragement to others! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Kathy! I really appreciate you sharing this with me today. A very good reminder that I don’t have to be impressive with God and that He loves me as I am – inadequacies and all! 🙂 I will try to remember this when “Trudy” shows up, I will go to God with a thankful heart. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Glenmar Fullmer

    Great post. I’m going to picture my zapper he is a really big guy

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hate the zapper! I have one…sometimes it can zap for years….or a day. I love this post….and your Creative Zapper is so creative…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. my creativity zapper is called My Grey. kind of lucky, because I can say, ‘My Grey, go away!’

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: An Apple A Day | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

