Random Shapes

I started playing with scrap paper in random shapes recently to learn about shape and form as part of my abstract class.  I made the one below by gluing various scraps of paper to a piece of hard-press 140 lb watercolor paper with a glue stick:

abstract - playing with shapes 1

I then outlined my shapes with oil pastel and rubbed it with a paper towel to smear it.  The outlining gives my shapes form.  It looks like the purple ring is a magnet and the other objects are drawn to it.

I found that limiting my time to about 15 minutes, helped me not to fuss over it.

The next one I outlined with pencil after I glued the shapes:

abstract with paper scraps - 2

I then smeared the pencil with a blending stump to add definition to my shapes.  It reminded me a little of blending Zentangles with a pencil to give them a 3-D appearance.

I found this exercise to be very relaxing.  And the results don’t look too bad. What do you think?

Happy Creating!  🙂

7 responses to “Random Shapes

  1. I like them both, Jill! It does look like fun. I prefer the second, but not sure why. I think the outlines not being as strong gives me more of the color? Not sure, but they both look cool! Which do you prefer?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this Jill!! Got to try this soon 🙂 I hesitate whenever abstract comes in to the picture. Silly, you should think it is the other way around 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love them! Always inspiring Jill!! And thank you so much for the beautiful heARTfelt card. So so so sweet of you. It is beautiful and means so much. Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Life Is A … Jigsaw Puzzle! | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

