Is It Possible To Paint Happiness?

I completed this doodle painting recently:

Doodle painting completed

It sings of happiness to me!  So I decided to include some of my favorite  happiness quotes to go with my progress photos.

Each day comes bearing its own gifts.                                                                       Untie the ribbons.  –  Ruth Ann Schabacker

I started my painting on a 12 x 16 inch canvas that I painted yellow.  I then divided the canvas into squares and started doodling in each square with paint and a brush:

Doodle painting - beginning

Act as if you were already happy,                                                                                 and that will tend to  make you happy.  –  Dale Carnegie

Next, I added Golden Fluid Acrylic Paint mixed with Liquitex Gloss Medium:

Doodle painting - step 1

If you obey all the rules – you miss all the fun.  – Katharine Hepburn

I added more colors and several more layers of paint:

Doodle painting - step 2

Take time every day to do something silly.  – Philipa Walker

I was done with the painting but it didn’t feel complete.

Doodle painting - step 4

Wear a smile and have friends;                                                                                    wear a scowl and have wrinkles. – George Elliot

So I outlined my doodle with a Zig Writer black pen.  Now it feels complete!

Doodle painting completed

Friends are the sunshine of life.  – John Hay

Happy Painting!  🙂

17 responses to “Is It Possible To Paint Happiness?

  1. I do believe you did paint happiness! It is very happy! 😊

    Liked by 3 people

  2. You certainly did paint happiness. What inspiring quotes throughout your post. I plan to do something silly today, just because of your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glenmar Fullmer

    Jill I love this! This abstract is YOU! You know what Stan would say! This is one happy painting!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love it, very beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jill, WP is deleting my comments again, apparently. They seem as thought they’ve been posted but then sometimes looking back at people’s blogs, they don’t appear. Argh!

    I love your post and I agree with Jodi and C – you have painted happiness. I think your outlining with the black pen at the end was the perfect final touch! I really love your little owl at the bottom. Is he a recurring character? Have you thought about making him one of the characters in your book(s)? He/she looks to have an interesting story. I like the steampunk feel of him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Laura! Maybe contact wordpress to see what’s going on? Thank you for posting again! 😊 I have not thought too much about my owl – he does seem to show up every now and then. 😄 Thank you for the suggestion – I will think about it. 🎨

      Liked by 1 person

  6. A very happy painting!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yes. Painting giraffes is happiness for me! Lovely work Jill!!! I can feel your happiness!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m not sure…but I love your attempt! Energetic and cool!👏👏👏🔺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

