Color Me Tropical!

Many of you know that I like to take online art classes.  They challenge me to “think outside the paint box.”  A recent assignment from Lynn Whipple in “The Year of The Spark” which is a year long creativity class co-taught with Carla Sonheim – was to create a self-portrait using a limited palette.

I like bright colors!  Can you tell?

self portrait limited palette

I started my self-portrait by making a couple of quick sketches.

self portrait sketches

I then decided on my 5 colors for my limited palette.  They have a tropical feel, don’t you think?

self portrait sketch on canvas board

I then drew myself with a black sharpie pen on a 8×10 inch canvas board.

self portrait limited palette

I quickly painted using Golden fluid acrylics mixed with gloss medium.  I did this in about 5 minutes so that I wouldn’t over think it.

It was really fun!  I don’t know how much it looks like me but it does show my cheerful personality!  🙂

I challenge you to create a self-portrait with a limited color palette!  You may be surprised!

“The best color in the whole world is the one that looks good on you.”  – Coco Chanel

Happy Painting!  🙂

7 responses to “Color Me Tropical!

  1. Good for you, Jill! It looks great, and I love the colors you’ve chosen. They’re bright and beautiful, and represent you well. 💛💜💛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very creative!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. And you have a new profile pic! This is such a cheerful self portrait, and that captures your personality and character so well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

