Sketchings of Nature

A friend at the lake brought me a wonderful nest she found on the ground.  It is a cup-shaped nest made out of green moss, pine needles, shredded birch bark or paper, tree lichen, feathers and dog hair.

the nest in a tree photo

I’m not sure yet the kind of bird that created this soft home-tweet-home.  Any guesses?  I had fun photographing it in a variety of settings like on a tree branch.

This prompted me to sketch it in my art journal:

Journal - Nature drawings on May 31st

With a few other wild plants such as:

pink forget me nots and nest

Pink Forget-Me-Nots…

ferns and white trillium flower

White Trillium flowers and unfurling ferns.

wild rose bush

And wild roses that are in bloom!

I hope to paint these subjects individually.  It was fun to draw them in my sketchbook so I will remember to do so!

Doing these sketches reminded me of one of my favorite artists, Marjolein Bastin, who draws and paints nature beautifully.  Do you have a favorite nature artist?  I’d love to hear about it!

Happy Creating!

10 responses to “Sketchings of Nature

  1. Love your sketchbook page! A book of these could be published. Have a tweet day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I adore your sketchbook and your nature art.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful, Jill! Cathy Johnson is my favorite. 💜 Looking forward to your paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You have a style all of your own; develop it by continuing to do. I find it is best to cultivate one’s own style, but be influenced and inspired by others. We are each unique and our artwork reflects that naturally, I think.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

