Trees

As I was painting trees yesterday in watercolor and gouache:

trees in watercolor and gouache

I was reminded of the poem –

Trees by (Alfred) Joyce Kilmer:

I think I shall never see                                                                                                       A poem lovely as a tree.

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest                                                                       Against the earth’s sweet flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,                                                                                    And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in Summer wear                                                                                      A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;                                                                              Who intimately lives with rain.

Poems are made by fools like me,                                                                                 But only God can make a tree.

my favorite tree

Happy Creating!

12 responses to “Trees

  1. Beautiful words we are reminded of an lovely art as always ❤️🌿

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So cool! I posted that poem in the earliest days of my blog. Love that one! Your trees are wonderful! 💛💜💛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jill I love this – your trees are wonderful and the poem alongside is so nice! makes me want to go get my paints! Beautiful !!:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I memorized and recited that poem at a talent show when I was like, 7! Thank you for bringing back those sweet memories, and your trees are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! That is so cool! And I bet you did FABULOUS!!! 😊
      And thank you, Squidtea! Would like to know your first name – if you feel comfortable sharing it with me. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aw, thank you!
        It’s Sydney. 🙂 One if my best friends gave me “Squid” about 4 years ago and I’ve never looked back! (Sometimes I introduce myself as Squid and get some really weird looks… :))

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

