Cotton Candy

Did you know that Cotton Candy was invented by a dentist?!

According to Wikipedia, Dr. William Morrison invented the spun sugar with confectioner John C. Wharton in 1897.

I painted this abstract in acrylics recently:

abstract - second layers

It has a cotton candy sort of feel to me.

Cotton Candy was first introduced at the 1904 World’s Fair as “Fairy Floss.”    They sold  68,655 boxes at 25¢ per box.  Sweet!

I started my painting on a 11 x14 canvas with Liquitex Heavy Body Acrylic paints:

Lesson 4 - different angle

Yes, I do like bright colors and cotton candy!  LOL!

In 1921, Dr. Joseph Lascaux – another dentist from New Orleans, Louisiana – invented a similar cotton candy machine.  His patent named the sweet confection “cotton candy” and the name stuck!

An automatic cotton candy machine was created in the 1970s (maybe another dentist) which made the product and packaged it. This made it easier to produce and available to sell at carnivals, fairs and stores.  It has since exploded in production!

I’m not sure if I’m finished with my abstract painting yet.  I decided to set it aside and “chew on it a bit…”

Will you be joining me to celebrate National Cotton Candy Day on December 7th?  Who knew?

Have a sweet Friday!

14 responses to “Cotton Candy

  1. Oh how joyful this is! Love it Jill! And it figures a dentist would invent cotton candy! More cavities to fill! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Jodi! I had fun learning about cotton candy! Do you think the second dentist from New Orleans chose the name “cotton” candy because he lived in cotton picking country? Just thinking about it. LOL! Happy Friday! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mine gives out homemade Christmas cookies, no joke lol! Jill, I absolutely love love love this painting! Love the black marks too, sets the whole thing off beautifully. What do you think of it? I know you’d said you weren’t enjoying that abstract class too much but I love this painting!! I hope you do too. Happy Weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are so kind, Laura! I’m not to sure about it. Trying to keep an open mind – LOL! I don’t think it is finished. Sometimes knowing the rules makes it harder to create. I think this is the part I am struggling with in the class. I have to figure out a balance between the rules and being spontaneous. I’m not a rules following girl in my art you know! 🎨😄

      Liked by 2 people

      • I agree totally. You probably didn’t need the class but I’m sure you picked up a few pointers. I think the rules shift us to the left brain, the logic side, and art is lost over there. I do love this piece, Jill! ❤

        Liked by 2 people

      • Jill, how long did it take you to paint this? Do you have any idea? I actually see a big smile in this painting. I just keep staring at it! I’ve had it up on my computer screen and every once in a while, I flip back to it. You’ve got so many cool textures in this. I’m trying to see what you did, so I can maybe try my own version. Love the colors you used too! It’s all acrylics, nothing else? It’s so cool.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. It maybe took an hour? I started it and then let it sit for a couple of days. I can’t really tell you how I did it. I just started playing. LOL! I used the heavy body acrylics and to extend the drying time, I used Liquitex Slow-Dry Blending Medium. I can tell you the colors I used if you are interested. You must see something in it that I don’t see. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It feels like oil paint to me. I don’t know, this feels like something a professional abstract painter would do. It is totally cool, Jill! Did you paint it with joy in mind, or any particular emotion? Or was it all random? Sorry to keep badgering you lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, you aren’t badgering me! I always enjoy having a conversation with you, Laura! ❤️ I think I was just trying to give some depth and movement to my piece. I just relaxed and went with the flow. This probably sounds funky. But I like painting without thinking. I can’t do this with watercolor unless I’m painting to splash paint around. When painting “abstract” I get into a zone and just relax. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks! I understand totally. Abstracts are a great brain break. I did one tonight that posts tomorrow. Dying to see what you think! Love yours though. Have a great weekend, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this post. I knew the painting already – from the class – of course. But I love how you’ve looked up the story of cotton candy and mixed it in with the other things you wrote about. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Abstract Paintings | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

