It’s An Enchanting World

A friend let me borrow a book that was well-loved by her children, here is one of the illustrations:

Fairy storybook

It is very old.  It is called, “A Day In Fairyland,” illustrated by Ana Mae Segren and written by Sigrid Rahmas.  It was printed in Sweden.

Last year I took a drawing and painting fairy class from Val Webb and painted this fairy in gouache:

Fairy Ivy completed

Her name is Ivy as she is peering out from the ivy!  I enjoyed painting her eyes especially.

This year, I took another painting class from Val Webb and painted this unicorn:

Finished unicorn

It is also using gouache.  I love the sky!

I enjoy painting the magical world of fairies and unicorns.  It is fun to use my imagination!

Happy Creating!  🙂

6 responses to “It’s An Enchanting World

  1. Wow! Ivy’s Eyes! Another new thing I don’t know – gouache…. ? Off to google it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jodi! Gouache is a fancy name for opaque watercolor. The fairy class really helped me “begin” to learn how to draw proportions and faces. I added gold pen to her eyes but you can’t see it in this photo. Enjoy your day! 😊🎨🌈

      Like

  2. What a treat, that was one of my favorite books when I was a little girl in the Netherlands!!! your magiacl creatures are…magical! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those illustrations are what I remember as a child….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So happy to hear, Rebecca! They are so sweet! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

