Gregg Shorthand

I created this mixed media collage in Lynn Whipple’s online class, “The Joy of Collage,” last year:

Gregg Shorthand completed

It says, “Gregg could twirl like a top with 2 shorthands, he’d spin nonstop…

It makes me laugh every time I look at it!

Did you have to take shorthand in school?  I didn’t but I found an old shorthand book at a thrift store and it makes wonderful additions to my collages!

I created this other collage in Lynn’s class too:

Little Bird Collage in memory of mom

I created it in memory of my mom.  It says, “Little bird at the window… tapping at my heart.”  I found my mom’s journal in her handwriting of the flowers she had planted in her yard.  One of the flowers was Forget-Me-Not.  It just seemed to appear to me when I created this collage.  I also used pages from an old school book.  My mom was a teacher.  The photograph is someone I do not know.

Hope these make you smile today!  🙂

Cheers!

8 responses to “Gregg Shorthand

  1. Love it, Jill! I took shorthand in high school. I didn’t want to go to college, so my plan was to be a secretary lol. I was fascinated by all those squiggles as a kid and wanted to learn how to decode them. My mom knew how, and when I got stuck on a word, I’d ask her. I was a weird little kid. Not much has changed lol! Your collages are so creative and fun and I love the way you take me back into history with your layers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your reference to your mom, too. Happy Sunday, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. super cute! I was a shorthand whiz back in the day! 🙂 Now I can type faster 🙂 How times change! I just love how you can turn Gregg Shorthand into a character collage! Always blown away by your creativeness Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ann Fitzpatrick

    Your creativity made me smile! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

