Flumadiddles Or Flapdoodles?

Word of the Day – Flumadiddle – it means utter nonsense…  so does the word Flapdoodle.  I will let you decide what these imaginary animals are!

It all started with an “eye”!  Using Carla Sonheim’s exercise #8 in her book, “Drawing and Painting Imaginary Animals” – I came up with these creatures:

Add names

I started by drawing with a ball point pen:

Imaginary animal doodles

Keeping my hand loose, these creatures were born!  Next, I added color with Copic markers and Prismacolor pencils:

add color

And to finish it, I made-up some names for them:

Add names

I think this would be a fun activity to do with children.  They have such wonderful imaginations!

Happy Creating!  🙂

P.S.  I have decided to work on some new ideas for my art so I won’t be posting on my blog every day.  I look forward to seeing what you are creating too!  xo

12 responses to “Flumadiddles Or Flapdoodles?

  1. Adorable! Look forward to seeing what your next projects are. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I am a Big-horned Goob in the morning before I have my coffee, and a Lazy Rogalach by the time I crawl into bed in the evening. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jill, these could be awesome monsters in your children’s books! I’ll really be looking forward to see what you get up to next!! 💜💛💜

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glenmar Fullmer

    It’s totally obvious that they are flappadoodles!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful and funny characters, love them!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

