Bloom Where You Are Planted!

I like this saying… probably because I like flowers!  And it applies to art too!

Flower Crazy - Week 3 - Gesso first on wood

In 2013, I started taking online art classes.  I had never done it before but I wanted to nurture my creative side.  I was working full-time so I didn’t have the time to take a live class or workshop.  I’m so glad I took the risk!

I’ve taken MANY classes from Carla Sonheim and have learned so much!  The above painting I did on wood with gesso first then watercolors.  I never would have thought to try this without her class called, “Flower Crazy.”

I learned other techniques such as this one:

Rub & Buff - 2

I created texture with gesso and then painted it with watercolor and buffed it with a soft cloth.  Very fun!

And I learned more about negative painting in this one:

Flower Crazy - Week 3 - watercolor first

I painted the wood panel with watercolors first.  Then I created my flowers by painting the negative background in gesso.

One of the things I enjoy about taking an online art class is I still get to learn from others!  I make new online friends too.  🙂

If you have never taken an online art class, I encourage you to give it a try!

Happy Creating!  🙂

13 responses to “Bloom Where You Are Planted!

  1. Such TALENT!! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love them Jill, particularly the bottom one!! I didn’t know you could WC on wood!! Do you have to prepare the surface first? Love!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Really neat techniques. Such different ways to create!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

