Just Leaf It

My title for this post reminds me of Michael Jackson’s song, “Just Beat It!”

image

I tend to be musically challenged in that I cannot remember the artist or the name of the song. Β It brings a lot of humor to our marriage. πŸ˜„

I started the above piece with soft pastels:

image

I like the texture it gives to the paper.

Next, I painted REAL leaves with acrylic paint and pressed them into cold press watercolor paper:

image

I tried to add a variety of colors and leaf shapes.

After it dried, I added my first layer of watercolor:

image

I like the added texture that the soft pastels have added to the piece but it may be difficult for you to see it.

I will add many more layers of watercolor paint and finish it with a black pen. Much like these previous experiments that you can find here. Β  I also have them listed in the category of Leaf Printing on the right.

Happy Creating! Β πŸ‚πŸ˜„πŸ

26 responses to “Just Leaf It

  1. Interesting technique

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the colors, textures and depth you have here looking forward to seeing the finished piece. Thank you for sharing the process, great to see the development of a mixed media artwork like this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful Jill! I am musically challenged too. Love to sing but am terrible at it. Do it anyway and makes my family laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful! I had forgotten about using nature to monoprint. I like the way you combined all the techniques. And wonderful colors. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cool technique Jill! It’s so much fun to mix mediums. I wish we lived closer, I’d love to come over for an art date, πŸ˜„πŸŽ¨.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Catherine Johnson

    What a neat idea to paint the actual leaves and press them. This is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh I love this. Fun mix of mediums and the colors…just love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is beautiful friend! I love how you used actual leaves to create this. The effect is really gorgeous. And you KNOW I’m also picturing you dancing like Michael Jackson while you were creating it, right? LOL πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks for making me laugh, Charlie!! πŸ˜‰ Glad you like my mixed media piece. There is something wonderful about printing with real leaves – reminds me of being a kid again I guess! πŸŽ¨πŸŽΆπŸ˜„πŸ‚

    Like

  10. Oh this is so pretty! Looks like my yard right now! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jill always enjoy seeing the process and then the beautiful finished art, such a gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This is really neat. The colors are so warm. I haven’t made leaf prints since my kids were little. I like your “grown up” version.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: A Fall Chiller | Jill's Art Journal

  14. These color and your eye has made this so beautiful. I love these colors.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

