The Blue Bowl

I painted this antique blue bowl in watercolor without sketching first:

image

This was a bit of a challenge for me.  Although it helped me to see the bowl’s shape more clearly, I realized that I messed up the pattern a bit around the top edge.  I decided to keep going anyway.

I added pencil at the end:

image

This was a good exercise to help me paint what I see instead of what I think I see!

I have this bowl in my kitchen and I see it every day so I surprised myself when I painted the pattern wrong.  I’m glad I kept going even though I messed up. I think I learned more about my subject from my mistake than if I had done it correctly.

Happy Creating!  😊

17 responses to “The Blue Bowl

  1. Often the case with me too. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful bowl, Jill! So you started with only watercolors. I’m always surprised by how it changes how I paint when I do that. Mistakes are part of the fun…so glad you kept going!! 👍🏻😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. great exercise and lovely result!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Jill, it takes courage to paint on inspite of the perceived mistakes. Beautiful practice session.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, and that’s the way to create, plunge in and explore! It’s always a pleasure visiting you site.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great practice – softly rendered. Very nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sometimes we think its a mistake and really just part of the process. Glad you kept going and didn’t stop.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

