Bits And Pieces

I used to love to draw faces in sketchbooks when I was in my teens.  I quit because I let the ideas of others influence me.

Well, I am happy to say, I’m back at it!  And this time, I’m adding bits and pieces of collage:

image

She looks to me like a young girl who loves the outdoors!  Perhaps she enjoys running on the beach with her dog, Sam or reading books of mystery on the sofa.  Would love to know her story, how about you?

I started her face with watercolor pencils:

image

Then added water to soften my lines:

image

I added some details with  Prismacolor Dark Umber color pencil:

image

And finished with torn pieces of collage from Gelli prints that I made previously with deli paper:

image

The colors blend a little better in better light.

Happy Creating!  😊

22 responses to “Bits And Pieces

  1. Glad you are following your heart Jill, love these.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Catherine Johnson

    Very funky!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think she looks like me when I come in from the backyard on a blustery fall day!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love how you think – so outside the box – you inspire me daily!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is so fun! I love the idea of doing faces like this Jill! Very cool! ❤️😃🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think collage is an awesome way to do portraits…it gives the painting an extra dimension (both literally and figuratively)!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jill, you are having way too much fun! 😄😍 cool portrait idea, thanks for posting your progress.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Good to go back to something you did before and loved doing. And now you bring a new twist to it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This looks like fun!!! So glad to see you following your dreams! It´s the best one can do! 💕🌈

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So sad to hear stories like this….a simple comment that may or may not have meant harm can change a lifetime or a lot of time for one person….it has happened to me…so I know! Your face is perfect! I love the mixed media use…keep going!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Warm yet serious I think. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

