An Elegant Dancer

My painting of a Red Crowned Crane was inspired by my father-in-law who enjoyed ballroom dancing:

image

Also known as a Japanese Crane, it is renowned for their spectacular and elaborate courtship dances – usually performed in pairs.

This Crane symbolizes long life and since my FIL lived until he was 87 , it seemed fitting!  Dancing became the highlight of his life in his later years which I’m sure helped him live a long life too.  😃

I sketched my painting in pencil and then outlined it with a Micron pen on 140 lb cold press watercolor paper – painting it with gouache.

Happy Dancing!  🌟🌟🌟

32 responses to “An Elegant Dancer

  1. Hey Jill, what a lovely imgae to wake up with! Cranes are one of my favorite birds…have you ever seen them flying in formation? A magical sight indeed. Thank you for letting starting the day with joy! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  2. such a beautiful painting and such a beautiful tribute to your FIL.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can see the movement of the dance in your rendering. Cranes are wonderful birds. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely painting. Wonderful energy and spirit, a sweet tribute to your FIL.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That is truly lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I really like this Jill

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This looks beautiful!!! Love those birds! You captured their grace!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I ador Japanese cranes and you really did them justice with this lovely piece!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jill this is absolutely lovely! What a wonderful tribute and so delicately and beautifully rendered. I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Catherine Johnson

    That is stunning and the movement is great. I was just talking to my friend about dancing. I’d love to dance regularly again. What a great tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Such grace and beauty, thank you Jill.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautifully done. N.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ooooh I love this one! It does look like he’s dancing 😄❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

