Life Is A Dance

The recent passing of my father-in-law has brought memories of my own parents and their deaths.

image

Before my own father died – 5 years ago, my sister and I were reminiscing on childhood memories.  One that I remember vividly as a child was my father dancing in his socks and me standing on his feet, hanging onto his pant leg – I felt so grown up!  And I thought I was dancing!  😄

Here is a photo of my sis and I as little kids:

image

My sister was almost 4 years old in this photo and I was just four months shy of turning 2. I think this was about that age when I used to dance with my dad.

The older I get in life, I learn that – Life is a dance and you learn the steps as you go!  I’d like to believe that I’m getting a wee bit wiser.

Happy Dancing!  ❤️

37 responses to “Life Is A Dance

  1. Beautiful thoughts Jill. Lovely memories. Adorable birds. You are going through the process of grief. Embrace it. Sending big bear hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those are the memories that stay with us, and keep those we love alive (K).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Catherine Johnson

    Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 💜 I’ve always loved that song. You take care, Jill.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad you have sweet memories to make you smile. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you Jill for thoughts today. They are helping me with my own grief. Love your childhood picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tears are rolling down my face as I read this. I’m so grateful that I still have my Dad but observing Remembrance Day this week, honouring Terry Fox the next day and now watching the horror in Paris has made me doubly sad. Hugs to everyone in your family and to all who read this.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Beautiful art and even more beautiful memory of your childhood! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful story. Let!s keep dancing

    Liked by 2 people

  10. So adorably cute! I picture you dancing now. These are the best memories to hold! And so true, even if we never learn all the steps, it was always worth the dance. ❤️😃

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Love your illustration, especially the use of the sheet music. Adorable photo and memory. My dad and I used to have a little “routine.” Sorry to hear about your father-in-law.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Funny dancing birs and love the story behind!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. This is so adorable! What a pair. I was the oldest. I have a sister two years younger. I was usually pushing her out of the shot or looking at he in disdain. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  14. What a fun piece and a wonderful memory of your father.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Cute, cute photo! Could I have your (and your sister’s) permission to tuck it into a file for possible use in collage?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

