Yes We Can

I was feeling a little like this “stuffed bird” after our Thanksgiving meal today:

image

This got me thinking about how thankful I am for everything!

After going without heat and electricity for 5 days, I am so much more aware of what I have and often take for granted.

This got me thinking how I can give back to those who are struggling to make ends meet – especially around the holidays. I don’t know about you but I sometimes get overwhelmed by all the ways I could help others so I wanted to do something simple.

I have decided that every time I go to the grocery store, I will buy one extra CAN of food to give to my local food bank. Β I challenge you to do the same!

I believe that together we CAN make a difference!  😊

 

15 responses to “Yes We Can

  1. What a funny stuffed bird. 😍
    I like your idea Jill, we “Can” all make a difference.
    Have a joyous day today!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great idea!!! I will do that too! Love your “stuffed bird”, especially itΒ΄s glance! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great idea! We don’t usually donate this time of year but in the summer, we donate a lot of homegrown veggies and homegrown eggs. The post office used to have a food drive over Thanksgiving but they didn’t do it this year. Maybe they’ll have one closer to Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! That’s fantastic that you donate FRESH veggies and eggs, Teresa! 😊 I was thinking that if I consciously purchased one extra can of something each trip to the store, I would be developing an awareness of other’s needs beyond myself on a more regular basis. πŸ’– Sounds like you are already doing so! xo πŸ˜ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Only YOU could make gluttony look cute. This bird is Sooo adorable and exactly how I feel today. β€οΈπŸ˜ƒπŸŽ¨And I agree! We “Can” make a difference. I’m in! πŸ˜‰πŸ‘πŸ»

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wonderful! I gave $1 to the Salvation Army and am donating more for a scheduled pick-up this holiday season. With my recent move, I’ve made it a point to donate as much as possible and throw out as little as possible. Great post, Jill.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m still stuffed lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

