Pretty Pathetic

I wanted to try drawing something Christmasy so I chose this sweet figurine of a girl that was given to me by my aunt when I was a child.

image

But try as I did, she turned out looking pretty pathetic!

image

I wasn’t going to post it but then I thought, what the heck!  I wanted to show that art is all about practice really and not perfection.

And I knew you, my friends would be kind to me which I so appreciate!

If you only knew how many times I erased her face….ugh!  I guess some days I should stick to imaginary creatures. Lol!

Cheers!  😜

20 responses to “Pretty Pathetic

  1. Catherine Johnson

    You know she has tonnes of character. I’m a firm believer if you get the eyes right the rest falls into place. She’s quirky 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, do not be so hard on your drawings. She is not pathetic, she is adorable and merely a thinner version than the statue. Thank you for being brave and sharing, your work always inspires and encourages.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol. Something charming about her because you did it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You think so Jodi? I messed up her nose and kept trying to fix it and it just made it worse! Argh!!! 😬 But I did not have time to do anything else. Onto the next project! 😜

      Like

  4. She’s cute Jill! I love that it doesn’t exactly match the figurine because you brought her to life!! Yours is so much more animated and alive! It’s like what the figurine becomes when you leave the room! 😉❤️😃

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is wonderful to share these moments of struggle… this is how we grow as artists. That being said, I think your drawing is wonderful. No, it does not look exactly like the figurine… but it is a joyful interpretation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very sweet Jill, I think your little girl is very charming. Love her eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Don’t be so hard on yourself but on the other hand thanks for sharing. It’s not always easy to share what we think of as failures but it is part of the process and I think others like to see that they aren’t the only ones!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. She’s cute :-)! She looks a bit different from the original, but that is one of the fun things about drawing. She probably also looks a bit different from how you wanted her to look. I find that is a hard one… But sometimes, I think, our drawings have a life of their own. And I read from a painter somewhere that he starts with a real scene but then he kind of goes with where the painting takes him. So you created someone new. Thanks for sharing her adorableness!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. No! Not pathetic at all! I find even things I don’t like as well others may like. I think she is well rendered. Don’t short sell yourself!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Jill I say she is your version of what you see. Art can take us down many roads. Sometimes I look at what I have created and wonder how I did not see the things I left out. So don’t worry so much I have days like these where the art looks nothing like my subject. You amaze me with all the different techniques you use.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

