Where Are You Going?

In 2014, I took an online art class that suggested we choose a word for the year.  My word was SOAR!  It seemed appropriate as I was into birds – even then!  Here is the collage I created:

Soar - word for 2014

It is the first face (ever) I painted with acrylics.  I added some collage elements that had a lot of symbolism for me.  Can you find all my winged teachers?  An owl for wisdom, a bird and it’s nest for keeping my eyes open to nature’s beauty, a fairy for humor, a butterfly for beauty, a dragonfly for balance and a hummingbird for joy!  There are other symbols such as a map, feather, flowers, leaves and roots.  I really enjoyed creating this piece but it took me a long time to complete it!

On January 2nd of this year, I posted that I was going to keep a daily sketchbook for the year and weekly post my progress on my blog.   I discovered that I need more of a FOCUS!  I need either a weekly or monthly idea to keep me focused on drawing, sketching or painting.

Do you give yourself a weekly or monthly focus for your sketchbook?

I completed 3 days but then I got distracted.  This got me thinking about my word for this year and I have decided on… yep!  You guessed it, “focus!”

So today, I did a journal page on my word for 2016:

2016-1-6 Word for 2016

I still have room to write things on my page.  Maybe you have some gems to share with me?

I am hoping that 2016 will be the year that I can figure out where I want to be going with my art and the mediums I want to explore in greater detail.

Do you give yourself a word for the year?  I’d love to hear what it is!

Happy Creating!  🙂

46 responses to “Where Are You Going?

  1. Wonderful idea having a word for the year. Love the collage you made for “soar” and really like your plans for this coming year. Wishing you much success and creative joy throughout the coming days. Thank you for sharing inspiration. ✨

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the combination of drawing, painting and collage in your portrait.
    Focus is a continuing problem for me. But distraction can produce some nice surprises! (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have done the word concept in past years – One Little Word – and need to “focus” on one for this year too! thanks for the reminder. beautiful collage with all the wonderful elements tied in. The girls face has me staring for a long time. Something in the eyes and the shape of the mouth. She looks a bit sad, yet in deep thought…. wonderful job Jilly!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ha! Look forward to hearing what word you choose for yourself, Jodi! 😃 Hope you will share! 💖💕 As for my portrait, I see a lot of my mom in the eyes. Not sure it looks like me in any way but she does make me think. 😜👍🎨

      Like

  4. I look at the girl’s face and words like depth and mystery come to mind.
    And my word for the year is “purge.” Not very glamorous, but I think there are things in my home (and in my heart) that it’s simply time to get rid of.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Very intriguing art today. I like all of the meaningful elements Jill. Focus is a good word for the day, month and year! As Chuck Close says…Just Show Up!
    Thanks for your continued inspiration.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Jill, may I borrow your word “focus” For this new year? I am very fragmented in my interests and so many ideas, thoughts and other people’s words are filing my head that not much gets done. If you allow me to share your word, “focus” , I promise to take very good care of it and not lose it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Glenmar! I was just thinking of you last evening. 😊 I’d be happy to share my word with you! 💖💕 Maybe we can help each other be more focused this year! 👍😜🌈

      Like

  7. What a brilliant idea to have a year word to guide you! I need to choose one because I’m so ADD. 😁 I don’t have themes for my sketchbooks because I sketch randomly but maybe I should have a theme so I can…focus! better. 😉 I love your portrait! If you don’t get another done for the 25th, I may link to this for SelfieArt day if I remember to do it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Karen Steinberg

    Focus…the perfect word for 2016!! I am borrowing your word also!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your first face is so interesting ~ nice idea with the feathers in the hair to help illustrate the concept of soar! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Cynthia! I surprised myself with this portrait. I didn’t have anything in mind when I started her and she guided me along. This may sound weird but she helped me throughout the year. I painted or drew all of these winged teachers some time during the year. Glad you like her! 💖💕 xo

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Your face is so good. My word is also Focus. So hard to stay on track at times.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you for this post, Jill, you´ve really made me think… Love your word FOCUS, it´s great. Focus could be my word too, as I´m losing a lot of time while not-focusing… 😉 But I think I will choose implementation. I´m working on my dream and I would like to work even harder to make it come true. Thanks for being an inspiration, Jill! Oh, and I really love your feathery painting, it´s beautiful! 🌞

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Ann! I like implementation too – a very good word! 😄👍 I am enjoying your art I purchased from Society 6! I got a coffee cup and a print. I believe you can make your dreams come true! 💐🌟🌈 Thank you for your kind words, my friend! 💖💕

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, wow, thank you, Jill!!! And thank you soooooo much for purchasing my art! I´m so happy, you´re my first customer! Yay!!! 😊 Can´t wait to see your art for purchase somewhere in the (near?) future! 💕

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m drinking from your art printed coffee cup this morning! 😊 It reminds me of you! 💖💕 And I decided to wait on the selling of my art for now. I want to build up a body of work first. Plus I still want to work on writing and illustrating a children’s book. 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ah, that´s a great idea! I´m pretty sure children would love you´re book because your ideas are always creative, surprising, and most the time really colourful! So funny it´s morning where you are – here it´s 9.30 pm… 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks Ann – sleep well! 🙂

        Like

  12. This is cool, Jill; I like! I’ve never done that word thing but I have one for you: passion. That may need to be my word too. You and I are on a similar journey. We like all kind of mediums and subjects. My blogging break was what helped me see that faces were “it” for me. When I eliminated the distractions and just kept making art, I found I kept going back to birds and people. Then I wound up doing a lot of Penny after her passing and started trying dogs and loved them. I just think whatever you have a fire for in your gut…..that’s what you must do. And I wish you some terrific discoveries this year my friend. 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Thanks Laura! 💖💕 I like the word, passion too! 😄👍 I’m thinking I want to explore mixed media collage in greater detail and develop my own style. I enjoy painting my own papers and playing with color. Will see what happens this year for us both! YAY!!! It’s so exciting – this journey we are on! 🎨😍🌈

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think these are the areas where you really shine! Not all the areas, because I see other strengths in your Arsenal because your imagination is bigger than most anyone I know, but many of them IMO are right there in your list, so I think it’s great you’re taking this road. You still want to write a children’s book, right? I think you’re a natural there too.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. A word for the year?! So cool!! I have trouble coming up with my theme for the month! Hehe… This is lovely! I was never good friends with acrylics…we didn’t get along. But love what you made!! 💕😃

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Yes! Wonderful Jill, great imagery and color!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Great journal page, Jill! I have never really spent any prolonged periods on focusing on my art journals for days and weeks at a time so I know how you feel trying to keep a focus or looking for ideas. I figure it will come in time so rather than stressing about it, I set out looking for OTHER people’s ideas and that has served me well in my humble beginnings. That is the primary reason that I participate in so many different “blog challenges” and the online classes that I take every year. Until it comes more natural for me I don’t know any other way for me right now. Both Carolyn Dube at AColorfulJourney.com and Julie Balzer are going to have multiple challenges (or for me, ideas! LOL) going for the year and Journal52 has a weekly prompt. Moo-Mania and More and Art Journal Journey always are full of great ideas and the artists there are awesome. LOTS of eye candy! Just some ideas. I have too much going on in my life (like work, church and family) right now that I need to spend what little time I have DO-ing the art instead of trying to come up with an idea or inspiration for creativity–that is the choice I finally had to face that I needed to make for me. It has also helped me to find people like you that I love chatting with. 🙂 The social aspects of this practice has also been very good and very necessary for me as well. I live in art desert–dry, parched and lonely. It has been making arty friends all over the world. I may never ever meet most of you, but I know you are out there nonetheless and that brings much contentment and satisfaction to my creative self!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Thanks so much Jill for ALL the info you shared with me! 💖💕 I appreciate you taking the time to do this and I will definitely check out the sites you mentioned. And I agree it is in the DOing that we improve our skills AND increase our confidence! I so enjoy looking at your creative journals! 😍👍❤️ Thank you for your friendship and inspiration! xo

    Like

  18. Pingback: Fox and Fairy – ANN CHRISTINA

Leave a Reply

