Switching Gears

After my color experiments yesterday, I decided to try the deli paper texture with acrylic paints.  The results take my breath away!

Here are just a couple I did:

I like how the acrylic paints adhere to the deli paper so I can use them in my collages too!

crumbled deli paper with acrylic paint

I then remembered a couple people mention the Spirograph in my blog post last Sunday so I dug out my set – it is from 1967.  It still looks in pretty good shape, wouldn’t you agree?

I decided to switch gears and give it a try once more!  But I had difficulty getting the outside circle to move properly.  So I did the next best thing – I covered it with paint!

spirograph pattern under paint 1-14-2016

I then got the idea to try printing with the circles – they look a little like gears, don’t you think?

I finished by adding more paint and texture with the deli paper.

I bet you didn’t expect me to do this, huh?  I challenge you to think outside the box too!

Happy Creating!  🙂

34 responses to “Switching Gears

  1. I had a spirograph too, ages ago… now I see the picture I remember it. And here you go, creating art with it after so many years. Great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Amazing bright cheerful colors! Your Spirograph looks brand new. I can’t believe you still have it. I used to have so much fun with that. Thanks for brightening the day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Catherine Johnson

    I love the circles! My daughter got a spirograph for Christmas. I should borrow it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Circles are always good! (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love it! Pretty sure my box cover was the same one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I used to love that thing so much! How cool that you still have yours! I like every single one of these images, Jill but the top one for me is a stunner! Love that and I love the circles going on at the bottom. They are too cool for school. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ooo and ahh, your colors and texture lines are fantastic, Jill. What a joyful process. I’ll be very interested in how you use your new papers. 💕☕️

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Fun fun fun, I like that you experiment and play with paint.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, I love all of these. That Spriograph gadget is neat. I have used small lids to do circles in the past. Looking forward to seeing what you do with these pieces!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Watching you do art makes me feel the joy of being a child again! I think the Spirograph experiment turned out wonderfully! And your set is like new. Hubby’s set looks a bit worse for wear. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You’re amazing!! And love seeing your Spirograph from the 60’s…I can’t believe how good of shape it’s in!! You took good care of your toys! Hehe And your images are wonderful! I love the way your mind works Jill… Those do look like gears and everything is imaginative and amazing!! 💕💕❤️🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I loved Spirograph when I was a kid, draped with it endlessly and made space landscapes with it. The ‘going around the outer circle’ is indeed the hardest but the trick is: not too much pressure and relax your body;0) xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  13. These are so fun! I use wax and parchment and the inside wrapper of cereal boxes but I have never seen deli paper here. All fun and react differently. I never had a Spirograph but always wanted one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did have fun, thanks Suz! I had to order the deli paper from Amazon. I researched to see what others had used and ordered Kabnet Wax brand. I don’t think I will ever run out! Lol! 😜 I found out about printing on deli paper from a book on “Gelli Printing,” by Suzanne McNeill. I think that deli paper isn’t as waxy as Wax paper. Anyway, I love using it in my collages because of its transparentcy. 😍🎨👍

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Pingback: It’s A New Day | Jill's Art Journal

  15. The spirograph is a real blast from the past …. pity they don’t repeat it! Like the out of this world look of the bag….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

