B is for Buttercups

One of my favorite flowers to discover in the woods is a bright, yellow Buttercup!  It means Spring is on its way!  YAY!

Now, I realize that I’m jumping ahead a month or two but I couldn’t resist drawing a Buttercup today in my “Alphabet Journal.”  Carla Sonheim recommended keeping one this year in the “Y is for Yellow” class.  It is a good place to write names of artists I like and other ideas I want to explore further.

One idea I’d like to explore in greater depth is keeping a nature journal.  I always enjoy seeing Cynthia’s flower and plant sketches at Sand Salt Moon.  Be sure to check out her blog if you haven’t already!  🙂

B is for Blooms

Using an internet photo as a reference, I drew my Buttercup with a black pen.  I tried to look mainly at my subject and not too much at my paper.  I colored it with Prismacolor pencils.

One of my favorite “B” illustrators of nature is Marjolein Bastin.  You probably know her from her Hallmark cards.

I found a short YouTube video about her that I thought you might like:

I enjoyed hearing her perspective about creating art.  I hope you do too!

Do you have a favorite artist that starts with the letter, “B”?  I’d love to hear from you!

Happy Sketching!  🙂

27 responses to “B is for Buttercups

  1. What a beautiful buttercup! I remember we used to hold them up to our chins as children…if it reflected yellow you like butter. I don’t need a buttercup to know that!
    As to B artists, Basquiat comes to mind. Not exactly a nature painter. Romare Bearden. Botticelli, that’s a bit closer. (K)

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Good morning…what a lovely way to start the day …with Marjolein Bastin!! She is Dutch and used to live close to village I grew up and where one of my sisters had a garden centre. She would come there quite often and I can tell you she is a genuine lovely person! (Of course, these connections make us cousins..right?;0)) I love her birds best.
    Your flowers are a joy too! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Buttercups are such happy flowers! What a nice way to start my day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is lovely Jill! Can’t wait too see more! You’re a natural at natural! Hehe 💕💕😃🎨 As a former Hallmarker I’m very familiar with Bastin. Lovely work!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve always loved her stuff too. Jill, I think you really have a special gift for florals. I’ve said this before, but seriously. This is really well done. All your work at drawing is paying off! Lovely work!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a wonderful page. Thanks for the video.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cute buttercup and a nature journal is a lovely idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love the whole journal page. It reminds me of a botanist’s book. Great idea on the journal.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The last minute of that video almost gave me chills when she talked about what I have to do, what I WILL do and that the river has to go where it wants to go. Woo. I’m feelin it, Jill. Thank you. Did that part resonate with you too? So much joy there also. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you for you post today Jill. Your exploration is so inspiring. Thanks for sharing the links to Cynthia and Marjolein.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Beautiful buttercups, Jill! 👍🌼💕 And thanks so much for sharing this wonderful little film! Enjoyed it very much, and I think it´s really encouraging. Wishing you flowing rivers! 😊❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Funny Fish Tales | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

