A Leaf Stencil

I learned this technique from Lynn Whipple last year in the Year of the Spark online class with Carla Sonheim.  I decided to try creating stencils with some of my own leaf shapes.

I drew my leaf shapes on cardstock and then cut them out.  I was careful to keep the shape intact so that I only had to tape one opening.

Next, I taped the stencils to watercolor paper.  I previously painted a light layer of watercolor on the paper so it would not buckle.   I then added another layer of paint:

I experimented with salt and cling wrap on a couple of the leaves.  Tomorrow I will reveal the painted leaves!

I know that I could have simply painted the paper with watercolors and then drew the leaf shape onto it but there is a reason that I didn’t do this and I will show you tomorrow.

Happy Creating!  🙂

27 responses to “A Leaf Stencil

  1. Hey that looks like fun! I don’t want to wait until tomorrow!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Agreed! Fun! Looking forward to the “reveal”. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I CANNOT wait to see – you tease!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looking forward (as always) to your next step!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I never think of art-ing with stencils! Those already look cool and I eagerly await your grand finale along with everyone else!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Stencils are great process with watercolors, I’m so excited to see the results! Even the stencils taped together is a cool image! 😍👯

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Watching with interest!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. How exciting! I can’t wait for tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow! This is really cool! I love all the fun techniques you share. One day…I’ll have to time to try even one of them! Hehe 😊Until then I’ll enjoy yours!! ❤️❤️😃

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I like all the colors you used for the leaves. Can’t wait to see the result.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hey! It’s tomorrow! Actually it’s two tomorrow’s….taps her foot….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

