A Juvenile Woodpecker

When I was at the lake last weekend, I noticed a woodpecker in this tree – tap, tap, tapping away:

image

After much research, I think that it is a Juvenile Downey Woodpecker because it still has a bright red cap.  And since today is Mother’s Day, I thought it was perfect to include him!

Today is also, “Draw A Bird” day on WordPress which is being hosted by the very talented, Laura at Create Art Everyday.  Be sure to check out her blog as she will be compiling a list of all the participants for this month’s challenge!  Thanks Laura!

I decided to “Collage A Bird” which really started with a drawing, using papers that I painted in watercolor:

As I was walking around the area at the lake, I noticed that the ferns were starting to unfurl and the wild strawberries were waking up in the warm spring sunshine too:

And here is a view of the lake – doesn’t it look peaceful?!

image

Wishing you a Sunny Sunday!

Enjoy your day, friends….  🙂

32 responses to “A Juvenile Woodpecker

  1. Love your bird collage Jill. So striking!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your collage, Jill. What a beautiful area. Happy Mother’s Day! 🌺

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a beautiful collage, Jill! I love the way you cut into your tree shape to make the lines in the bark! I admire realistic acrylic painters and realist collage artists, and you are BOTH! Thanks for the mention too, so glad you joined us, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you might have a Yellow-bellied Sapsucker there. I LOVE the paper collage!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jill I love your collage woodpecker! Love how you translated the woodpecker into a few simple shapes. Very cool! And there is something about it that reminds me of those Chinese bamboo paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow! I love Woody!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Super cool!! I love that you saw a collage in that bird…it does really work well for one with all the great color blocking. A fantastic collage!! 😍🎨Hope you are having a wonderful Mother’s Day my friend! 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love your collage….and Happy Mother’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your collage Woodpecker is lovely, and very creative!

    Happy Mother’s Day Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love your creativity the collage looks great! 😉 Happy Mother’s Day!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. It looks so beautiful at your lake. Yesterday I found out that the ferry that takes us over to our cottage has been deemed unsafe and is being taken out of commission. I have no idea how the residents of the island are suppose to get back and forth, never mind the cottagers who are only up there for 3 to 4 months of the year. There is a small passenger ferry but there are 700 residents and over 1000 cottagers and our cottage is on the other side of the island. It should be an interesting summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautiful collage Jill. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Awesome collage, Jill :-)! And the lake looks like a spectacular place.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Oh, Jill! I am so envious of your lake weekends. What a wonderful treat and a great way to enjoy the spring. Your woodpecker is excellent. I love the colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: Draw a Bird Day May: Bird Art Roundup! | Create art everyday

Leave a Reply

