Dye And Salt Nature Prints

A few years ago, I purchased this book by L.K. Ludwig on Nature Journals:

image

I fell in love with making nature prints with Procion fabric dyes and Kosher salt:

image

It was a really fun activity to do at the lake!  I had lots of natural materials and could work outside.

image

I had so much fun making the prints that I never got to making the journal!  Lol!

Then I found this old ledger at a thrift store so I started creating pages for it:

However, I didn’t get very far on the project.  With my renewed interest in creating a nature journal with my sketches, I decided it was time to “dig” this one out again.

Yesterday, I added some collage papers to some of my prints:

image

I had fun playing with color and different images… and will continue to add to these pages.

Have you ever created a “Mixed Media” Nature Journal?  I’d love to hear about it!

Happy Creating!  🙂

30 responses to “Dye And Salt Nature Prints

  1. delightfully gorgeous!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ive never created one, but what you have going here is gorgeous, Jill. Beautiful colors and textures too. You rock at MM, lady!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful! and fun, as usual. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love when you show your nature journal pieces. Very inspiring. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Kathy! 💕💜 I made a paper “quilt” with some of my squares in the photo I showed with the book. I’m hoping to do another one for my journal. So many projects so little time! Lol! 😉

      Like

  5. Jill, what a very cool activity. I’m going to check out this book. You are so full of fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Sharon! It is such a cool book! I’d love it if you wanted to make a mixed media journal too with some of the ideas from the book. She uses lots of texture and natural found objects in her journals. They are a feast for the eyes! 😍🎨💕

      Like

  6. This made me smile, just yesterday I was picking plants, boiling them up, adding dye….I made my nature pages 😀 As I read your post they were sat drying on the shelf…..still wet 12 hrs later, but can’t wait to create more.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow!! So pretty!! I love these!! Beautiful colors. Nicely done, Jill! 😍🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Haven’t tried creating one but yours is fantastic! yay to vibrant colors and texture galore! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Once more your incredible colors and unbelievable creativity!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Beautiful work, Jill 🙂 So vibrant , so appealing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

