A Craven

I bet you didn’t know there is a bird that is a cross between a Raven and a Crow  called a Craven!

I discovered that Cravens are normally quite timid birds except this one that is rather bold:

image

Let me share my “Designer Secrets” with you!  First I started with a sketch of a raven in pencil:

image

Next, I ripped pages from this old magazine – looking for interesting colors and patterns:

image

Lastly, I used a glue stick to fill my bird shape with the torn papers.  I added a hat at the end as he looked like he needed one!  Lol!

Happy Weird Bird Wednesday!  I hope I brightened your day!  🙂

51 responses to “A Craven

  1. Wonderful! Lovely collage and a great idea to have a Weird Bird Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This may be my favorite of your birds, Jill! I just love his sweet face and the crown incorporating a nest, bonus! Gorgeous colors, this was a terrific idea. Loved your initial sketch too! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg. That is the cutest darn thing ever. You know how I adore your weird birds!!! Rock on jilly!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That raven is pure bliss!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am such a fan of Weird Bird Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Where’s the party? Ready to rock! (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. He did make me smile with his regal coat and crown. I bet he was a lot fun to create. Happy Wednesday to you, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for this splash of color, exactly what I needed right now 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Excellent collage, and Sketch!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A dashing ol lad indeed! So handsome in is quilt coat and crown! Ready for a morning spot of tea! I do hope you have a splendid day! Cheerio!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thanks for this colorful birdie 😍it made me smile! Happy Wednesday to you too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Gorgeous craven. You don’t usually see them this far north.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. He’s a cutie. N.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Love your Craven…..bold and totally weird, just my style!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Oh I forgot to say….I love his hat! it made me laugh!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Hehe! So busy lately that I almost missed my weird bird fix!! Yay!! Love the Craven!! Awesome!! 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Adorable bird, no doubt the best of both worlds. Thank you for sharing the process and your delightful creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Painting for Joy

    Awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

