A Natural Influence

I have been sketching more with pencil in my art journal.  And then adding a little watercolor for color such as this wildflower, the Purple Pea Vine:

I like learning about the wildflowers native at our lake in Northern Idaho.  My mom was excellent about knowing their names so I was probably influenced by her.

Each July, I remember my mom, who passed away in July 1999 by walking on her favorite nature trail at the lake.  So this last weekend, I painted one of her favorite flowers, the Begonia.  I planted this one in an old bucket at the lake:

My mom always loved watermelon on the 4th of July so I had to paint a slice!

This watermelon stepping stone I made in her memory several years ago:

It was very relaxing to paint this last weekend at the lake.  I’m starting to like my paintings more and I can see some improvement.  🙂

Do you do something special each year to remember a loved one?  I would love to hear about it if you want to share it with me.

Happy Painting!  🙂

42 responses to “A Natural Influence

  1. What sweet memories and such a lovely way to honor your mom. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are beautiful Jill, and what a nice legacy from your mother. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a lovely tradition and yes I can see a lot of growth in your painting, Jill.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I do see lots of growth in your paintings and drawings, Jill! Man, it’s just amazing what daily doing does. haha that sounded funny. And a wonderful way to remember your mom. Glad you shared this. Love the stone you made too. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Daily drawing does wonders! Lol! 😉 And painting too! I’m not a huge watercolor person but I’m starting to relax and enjoy it. I think finding a subject I like is part of it. I’m enjoying the wildflowers at the lake as I feel a connection with my mom. Thanks for your kind comments as always, Laura. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re so welcome, thank you back! It really is huge, Jill – and you’re the one who got me started on it. I need to get back to it because now when I go to draw something it always takes longer. Drawing daily makes a huge difference!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. These are beautiful, Jill. Definitely progress. Glad that you shared them as well as memories from you Mom. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jill, your drawing and painting sketches are making my eyes very happy. Your mom would have loved these.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a lovely way to remember your Mom! The sweat pea is lovely as are all your flower paintings.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Painting for Joy

    Beautiful water colors Jill. I love the stepping stone! Wonderful tributes to your mom.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely work, Jill. I paint stones to put on my parents’ and sister’s grave.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wonderful sketches Jill! And now I know that I painted pea vines last week, I wasn’t shure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wonderful Jill 👍🏼💐
    Great way to remember your mom! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. She lives in your heart and in your art too. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Your sketches are absolutely beautiful Jill! They do keep getting better and better! And such a lovely tribute to your mother. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Your paintings are beautiful and a lovely tribute to your mother. I like to think that painting, drawing, creating art, is another way we have to converse with our loved ones that we hold so dearly in our hearts. You walk in beauty Jill, thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Patricia G Bleecher

    Living an artful life, Jill

    Liked by 1 person

  16. What a beautiful and touching post Jill. I love everyone’s comments too, such a loving community. I’m sure your mom loved your creativity and to see all these things she loved through your paintings is so very special. You are very talented and your watercolors sing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

