Clowning Around

I was drawing clowns in my sketchbook this weekend with a Stabilo “All” pencil.  I have heard good things about this pencil and so I wanted to try it out.

I decided to try “printing” watercolors on top of my drawings with a small Gelli plate and watercolors.  Here are my supplies:

image

I experimented with watercolors first by applying 1-3 colors to my Gelli plate and then pressing it randomly on the clown face:

I liked how the pencil bled with the paints.  It was spontaneous FUNZA!  So I tried some gouache paints:

I experimented on 140 lb cold press and hot press paper.  The last one I tried to create some emotion to my sad clown:

I like how the paint adds depth to the clown faces and hope to play more with this technique.  I’d love to hear what you think!

Happy Experimenting!  🙂

22 responses to “Clowning Around

  1. This works well. I’ve never tried monoprinting on a drawing, only the other way around. I like it! (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your colors! I’ve never tried it, but that is the gelli plate I finally broke down and bought (but haven’t used yet) so maybe I will! Thanks for the inspiration, Jill! 💜💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How fun and creative. Pure jillza here!!! I love the first one best. Your creativeness never ceases to amaza me 😝

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your mind and personality…..sometimes I feel compelled to come visit you just by viewing your art! I get a feeling that you are fun and lighthearted, I absolutely love your clowns, they made me smile….totally! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Fun experiment. I had not thought of using watercolor on Gelli plates. I like the first two best. All three are fun but the colors speak to me on the first two.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fun! Love your clowning around… each one has such a different feel and emotion with all the different types of mixed media. Love it! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Painting for Joy

    Okay now that’s cool stuff!!! I’ve never heard of a gelli plate. It gave the clowns their color which is what comes to mind when I think about clowns. 👏🏻👍🏻💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Rhonda! I love gelli printing!! I usually do it with fluid acrylics but decided to try watercolor. Some day I hope to create some videos to teach how to have fun with the gelli plate. I like to use the prints in my collages. Happy you like my clowns! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I like your unusual approach, Jill. The traditional line and then abstract color is awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. That’s amazing Jill 😍 second one 💕 is my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

