A Dust Whirl

In the U.S., a dust whirl is also called a dust devil or a dustnado (a dust tornado).  In Austrailia, they are called, “willy willy” or “whirly whirly.”  (Sounds like one of my weird birds, huh?)  Lol!

According to weather.about.com, “Dust whirls form under clear skies usually in the summer.  These occur when one part of the ground heats up faster than the surrounding ground.  These hot spots then draw in cooler air from around them which causes spiraling of the air.  The column of air stretches vertically, which acts to intensify the spinning effect.  The swirling air is made visible by loose dust, dirt and soil.”

Here is my abstract interpretation in watercolor:

image

Dust whirls may look like tornadoes (both are rotating columns of wind), but this is where the similarities begin and end.  They are usually harmless and dissipate minutes after forming.

I added soft pastels to my whirl of watercolor:

image

I experienced a dust whirl as a child when I was lying on a dock and one picked me up and put me in the water.  It was a big surprise!  😉

Sometimes life feels like a whirl wind… I hope you breeze through your day with a smile on your lips and a paint brush in your hand!

Happy Painting!  🙂

24 responses to “A Dust Whirl

  1. Your painting is pure bliss and relaxation, Jill. 🙂 Thanks too for that info on dustnado. I don’t we have that here. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such fun painting. At first it reminded me of one of those huge lolipops I always wanted as a kid (but was never allowed lol). Beautiful blending of colors and paint. Hope I never experience a dustnado in real life though. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • It does look like a lollipop! 🙂 I painted it and then decided it looked like a dust whirl. Lol! 😉 It was a relaxing way to paint. I was inspired by the guest artist, Coco Bee that posted on Charlie’s blog yesterday. She made it look so easy. And it was! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is nice, Jill. You really have a way with color and I like the pastel add too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That must have been quite an experience! I’m glad you could turn it into such a colorful spinning mandala. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your whirl of color inspired me, Jill. Interesting bits about dust whirls.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a fun abstract! I love the texture that the pastels gave it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thank you Jill, it would be fantastic if we could breeze threw our day with a paint brush in our hand and a smile on our lips. Idyllic. Fantastic colors in your “whirly whirly”. That must have been some experience ending up in the water!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. That’s the prettiest darn dust whirl I’ve ever seen! Those colors make it magical! 😍🎨Can’t imagine being picked up by one! That’s wild!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So pretty and looks like so much fun…love the movement!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

