Pass The Wine And Cheese!

At the lake, several of our friends gather at 5 o’clock for Happy Hour.  It really is a chance to talk and get caught up with everyone and share some laughter.  Everyone brings a snack to share and what they want to drink.  Some people just drink water but my hubby and I usually pour ourselves a glass of wine.  White or red – we like them both!  🙂

I created this in my art journal this summer.  It is a blind contour drawing (my eyes were closed and no I didn’t peak!)  After I drew it, I splashed on some watercolors – and yes, my eyes were open for this part.  😉

image

I like how the soft colors blend, don’t you?   Kind of like a winemaker blending his grapes together to create a varietal of wine…

I’d like to create this painting on a larger piece of watercolor paper and frame it.

Speaking of framing – do you cut your own mat board for your artwork?  I purchased a couple of mats today with the intention of matting some of my art but the mat opening didn’t fit properly.   Any ideas?!

Cheers Friends!  🙂

21 responses to “Pass The Wine And Cheese!

  1. Love that blind contour and the colors blending! Beautiful ! I do have a matt cutter. It is not that expensive and nice if you want to create your own size. Sometimes I go to Michaels or Joanns too with a 40% off coupon and go through the multitude of beautiful frames with matts and take my painting and place it among all to find just the right one. There are so many different sizes and shapes pre made. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love this so much….I do what Jodi does and I am hoping to get a matt cutter one day. I have a wonderful framer but I have been trying to frame my own work, at least the watercolors, pastels are too involved.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glenmar Fullmer

    This is great! I love it!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Painting for Joy

    I love this too! It’s quite Piccaso-ish! You are soooo talented! 👏🏻👍🏻👌🏻💕

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Wonderfull colours Dear Jill

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This is fabulous!! 😍Well, you knew you had me at wine and cheese! Lol You should totally do something larger with this design! (I’ll leave the tips to the pros! I never make it out of my little sketchbook!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol! 😃🍷🧀 Yes, 2 of my favorite food groups! 😉 I’m learning a lot about framing my own artwork. I hope to share it on my blog. Maybe you will want to frame one of your Doodlewashes some day, Charlie! 💕😃

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You had me at wine and cheese too!!! LOL Fabulous painting Jill, cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Jill , the red image is stunning…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

