Kathy’s Hummingbird

Since today is “Draw A Bird Day,” hosted by Laura at Create Art Everyday, I decided to try a hummingbird.  (I hope Laura will come back to blogging as I miss her creative experiments!)

I saw a hummer on Kathy’s blog, Backyard Bird Nerd last week, titled:  “Tis The Season.”  I loved how she captured the hummingbird resting in her photo like I painted here:

image

I started by a pencil sketch on cold-press watercolor paper:

image

Next, I outlined it with a fine tip, “Elegant Writer” pen made by Speedball:

image

This pen is made for calligraphy but as you can see below, it activates with water:

image

I love the pinks that appeared from this pen!  I learned how to do this by watching the YouTube video by watercolor and mixed media artist, Karlyn Holman:

 

I finished my painting by adding some watercolors to my bird and softening the background:

image

This was a fun experiment that I hope to try again!  Thanks Kathy Doremus for inspiring my art with your AWESOME photos!

Happy Painting!  🙂

28 responses to “Kathy’s Hummingbird

  1. Beautiful hummer Jill! Hope your hulking a happy time today. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such beautiful greens. Kathie always has inspiring photos, and you’ve used this one well. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how your captured the jeweled neck. What a great way to start my day! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great idea using that pen – such wonderful effects, and the colors are perfect for the subject. Pretty little hummer!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s beautiful! The eye and throat feathers are just lovely.

    I miss Laura too! Hope your foot is doing better today!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nicely done Jill. Makes me want to dust off my elegant writer’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love the elegant writer, reminds me as I have not used mine in a while, great choice, perfect for this pen 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Beautiful hummingbird, Jill :-). The details are so delicate and the ink and watercolour flowiness is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Glad you like it Myriam! 😃 It was fun to experiment with the ink pen.

    Like

  10. Jill I am in love! I hope you do a whole series of these and turn them into cards, they would look beautiful printed on cushions too.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Simply beautiful Jill 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautiful, Jill. Nice to see your progress and materials. Amazing how the pen reacts to the water. A chance for happy accidents. Nice!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jill, Wowza shapes here, your drawing habit is paying big dividends. I find hummers oddly difficult to draw but you’ve nailed it!! Wonderful!! I miss Laura too, where the heck is she?! Hope you’re recuperating and glad you’re enjoying autumn. Today we get a little taste and then by the end of the week, I hope it’s here for good! Thanks for keeping WP flying, and thanks for the mention too, my friend. 💜💜💜🍁🍂🌻

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You crack me up!! 😄 Thanks for your nice comments on my hummer! It is a fun pen to play with! Hope you give it a try! 🎨💕👍 And you’re welcome! 😍🍂🍁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

