The Huckleberry Hound

I had a dog when I was growing up whose name was Mugsy.  Mugsy was a mutt…part German Shepherd, Terrier and who knows?

During the summer, my family and I would often pick wild huckleberries in the mountains.  Well, Mugsy would eat the huckleberries right off the bush!  So he was nicknamed, the Huckleberry Hound!

I don’t know why this memory is surfacing for me now…maybe because adding color to my doodle bowl from yesterday reminded me of it.  I added color with my water-soluble Faber-Castell color pencils:

img_9703

Can you find the Huckleberries in my doodle?  I know Mugsy could!

Cheers!  🙂

14 responses to “The Huckleberry Hound

  1. I love that name, Mugsy. What a cute story. Adding water makes it look 3D. It’s great, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How fun and I love that it brought such happy memories! I found the huckleberries 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so pretty and would also make a wonderful pattern on a summer dress! 🦋😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely!! And a sweet story too…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful colours and details, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Pete! 😃 I enjoyed experimenting with this one. A couple of people told me on Instagram that it looked like a garden. I guess I’m ready for Spring but we still have several more months of winter here. 😔❄️

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is lovely with the color! And I loved your story of Mugsy (great name!). 😍I actually picked up a small huckleberry pie today! hehe… will be enjoying it after dinner tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A Huckleberry pie!! Yum!! 😋 I can’t wait to hear if you like it, Charlie!! 😍 And I’m glad you liked my story about Mugsy. Loved that dog! 🐶💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

