The Ballet Dancer

I’ve always admired the beauty and grace of ballet dancers.

When I saw that Ivy Newport was going to be teaching an online study of Degas called, The Lovely Dancer, I jumped at the chance!

I tried to capture some of the ballet dancer’s style in quick gesture drawings with charcoal:

img_9843

img_9844

It makes me want to get up and twirl!

img_9837

How about you?  Do you like ballet?

Happy Friday!  Cheers!  🙂

27 responses to “The Ballet Dancer

  1. Awesome job on these drawings Jill!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had ballet lessons for most part of my youth…until I became too tall ( I am 6ft+) One has to be short for ballet.My teacher at one point shouted:” Stop growing!”…so I really enjoyed your little dancers!! xo Johanna

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You absolutely captured their graceful movements!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow!! These are fantastic, Jill! So much energy and movement! Well done! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  5. the body in motion…with grace (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. These are lovely! I think they’d make a lovely series on a wall.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. How lovely! I love the second one, especially: so graceful!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You created such graceful ballet dancers. Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love ballet! Your drawings are amazing!!! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  10. These drawings are amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Beautiful! I loved this post! 🙂 Your drawings are so lovely!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I recently been wanting to take ballet lessons but it’s sort of too late for that 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

