A Wild Beast?

I was learning a new art technique yesterday and this wild beast showed up!!

img_9963

It reminded me of one of my favorite childhood books, “Where The Wild Things Are,” by Maurice Sendak.

This technique is called a Notan which is about blocking out shapes in black and white in order to master shape recognition.  It  can help an artist learn composition in design.

I watched a YouTube video on how to make a Notan if you are interested in learning more about it.

Cheers!  🙂

29 responses to “A Wild Beast?

  1. This is so cool, Jill!
    I think i’ll give it a try as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What s cool technique and I can see the artistic value in it!! I love your monster and it does remind me of that book. A favorite of mine too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so cool….but it also reminds me of one of those psychology tests that I am always a bit afraid of what my answers would reveal!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. oooh how fun! I will google it and do some experimenting and learning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Seattle Artist, Barbara Noonan who is a Pastel artist, shared how she uses this technique before she starts a piece of art. I need much more practice to train my eye to see a subject or landscape in only 2 colors – black and white. I found it quite challenging but I could see the value in it too. I thought you might enjoy it, Margaret. 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Perfect timing too….looks like a football player catching the winning ball for a touch down!! Go patriots!! Gosh didn’t know you liked football!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cool 😎 Positive Negative space study! We used to do assignments like this when I was in art college!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow…Matisse meets modcon and creates funkadelic . Such great work, Jill!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love it, Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jill time and time again you show us something so uniquely you…love it!
    Kath

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: A Nature Notan | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

