Bulldogs And Butterflies

Yesterday, I watched our local college basketball team from Spokane, Washington; Gonzaga win their first game at the NCAA championships in Phoenix, Arizona.

Gonzaga beat South Carolina in a close game, 77 to 73.  This is the first time that Gonzaga Bulldogs have made it into the Final 4 tournament so it was great fun cheering them on!

On Monday, they play against North Carolina for the championship!  Go Zags!!

IMG_0845

I haven’t painted a subject in watercolor in awhile so I decided to participate in the World Watercolor Group challenge and paint a butterfly – no fooling! 😉

I’m not totally happy with my results.  I added a little Irridescent Fine acrylics to add shine to the gossamer wings…

IMG_0842

Next, I tried to fix it a bit with color pencils and I’m not sure I like it much better!

IMG_0849

Some days you win and some you lose…

Are you a basketball fan?  Who is your favorite team?

Cheers!  🙂

20 responses to “Bulldogs And Butterflies

  1. Why don’t you like it? I think it is absolutely lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like it too! Don’t be so hard on yourself! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glenmar Fullmer

    What’s not to like. I love it!

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay!! so happy you joined in… beautiful butterfly!! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like it too. I don’t see much difference between the two. They’re both lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. not a basketball fan – but love your butterfly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jodi! 💜 I don’t watch much BB either but it was such an exciting game! 🏀 My hubby is a sports fan. I’d much rather do art most of the time… I wanted my butterfly to be looser but it didn’t turn out as I envisioned it. I need more practice. 🦋 I hope you had a nice weekend with your hubby. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Not a basketball fan, but my husband looks a lot like NC’s Roy Williams. We vacation in NC each summer and he gets asked often if he is the coach. Kind of fun, but if basketball is on TV, I am usually painting. Wait, maybe I do like basketball after all 🙂 I love the colors in your pretty butterfly 🦋

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Carol! 😃 I’d much rather paint than watch BB too but it was a really exciting game! 🏀 Funny how your hubby is often mistaken for the coach! 😉 I decided to paint a butterfly after I saw your beauty! 🦋 Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Love the bulldogs!! Beautiful butterfly! Really like the colors!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Opps how did I miss the post! This is lovely and I liked the use of acrylic to make it shine 🦋

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: The Karnowski Bird | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a Reply

