The Aim Of Art

“The aim of art,” according to Aristotle, “is to represent not the outward appearance of things but their inward significance.”

I used a melon baller, seed pod and seashells for my inspiration in these imaginary flowers:

7F5486DA-E4BD-45D4-98EF-874777824CC0

I started with watercolor.   Next, I added layers of paper collage with matte gel medium, watercolor, and white gel pen.  I finished my piece with the quote from Aristotle:

IMG_1168

What is the aim of art for you?

I think my aim for art is to create it!  I just love to explore new materials and discover how I can create it into something new for me – and maybe you too!

Cheers!  🙂

29 responses to “The Aim Of Art

  1. You are a font of ideas! Each of these is a gem. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a good way to be, Jill! I really love the final painting. You certainly express yourself in the most imaginitive and beautiful way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So creative! It’s beautiful 💚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for sharing your creative process with us! You turned these few items into a lovely painting full of imagination! I love your color palette too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great quote to go with your lovely art. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love it! I’ve been dabbling with flowers all week….will be posting pictures tomorrow on my blog if you are interested in checking them out: http://www.creativefaith.me. funny where you can find inspirations!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You are so creative! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Carol! So kind of you to say, friend! ❤💐🎨👍

      Liked by 1 person

      • I tried to answer your question of why I “art,” but I had so many answers I didn’t want to blow up your blog ;). In a nutshell, self-expression, satisfaction of producing things I think are worthy of my time, an inner need to create daily (I don’t know what drives this, but I’m thankful for it), and the hunger of learning all I can while here on this planet! And much more! 😘

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree with everything you said, Carol! 😍 I don’t know where my daily need to create art comes from either…🎨👍 And yes, I love to learn too!! 👩‍🎨

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Great aim Jill. I think mine is about the same, just create! 😉💕🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Love that Aristotle quote. And your artwork! I can’t decide if it is the process or the result. I think a little of eac h for me

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love the whimsy of your art, very unique and so you! I love that quote! Are you going to print your painting? I would love to buy one from you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I agree with Kerfe! These are unique 💐 for me art is a meditation. ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The Aristotle quote is fantastic; I completely agree. But for me the process, the creating itself, is enough.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I understand Carolin. Thank you for your comments. I like to create it and then move onto something else! Maybe some day I will sell some of them so I can buy more art supplies! 🎨😃👍

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

