My Always “Right” Half

One of the assignments in Lynn Whipple’s online class, “Making Faces” is to draw half of your own face.

Here I am – wrinkles and all after a long day working at the office:

IMG_1752

Lucky for me, we got to order pizza for dinner!  YAY!  😉

This was a really fun assignment and I encourage you to give it a try!  This is how I did it:

  1. Take a piece of inexpensive paper (then you won’t feel like you are wasting it).
  2. Stand in front of the mirror with your piece of paper and a pencil.
  3. Decide where the top of your head is on your paper and make a mark.
  4. Mark in pencil where the following is on your paper (next to your face):  Eye, eyebrow, nose, ear, lips and chin.  Now, loosely draw these features with a light touch while holding the paper up to your face.
  5. Once you get an idea where the lines need to be, make stronger lines, erase as needed.  Keep checking with your face in a mirror.

I found this exercise extremely helpful in understanding the layout of a face better.

Happy Drawing – Cheers!  🙂

16 responses to “My Always “Right” Half

  1. Drawing from a mirror is tricky, but you did a great job! (K)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Kerfe – yes, a bit tricky but it really helped me with where to place the features on a face. It confirms the info I’ve been reading about in art books. 😊 Happy Friday!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That is really cool! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a really fun exercise, Jill….I might have to steal that for the art forum I belong to! 🙂 You did really well with it, BTW!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome! I need to try this. I don’t see any wrinkles! I don’t see them on my face either bc I take off my reading glasses 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great exercise! I’d probably poke myself in the eye lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wasn’t it hard to draw that way? Drawing on the paper without a solid, even surface and then working from a mirror! Sounds hard to me. Were things opposite or backwards? I’ll have to try it just to see how that would work.

    You did a great job! Pizza sounds good too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Deborah! It took a little bit getting used to and my lines were a bit squiggly drawing this way. But it really helped to realize that my eyes are halfway down from the top of my head and where the bottom of my nose starts, lips, chin, etc After I got the placement, I erased my squiggly lines and made straighter ones on a flat surface. I hope you give it a try! I’d love to see your results. ❤🎨👍 And the pizza was delish! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great job! Great top! Great Lady!!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is awesome!! Hehe… just love it!! 👍🏻😃💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

