Face It

OK, it was not easy to come up with a title for today’s post… if I must “face it!”

How do I describe these silly faces?!

They were created from my faces I did on Tuesday and then cut them up and mixed them up to create these new wacky faces!

IMG_1883

It kind of reminded me of a meeting I had yesterday with a group of people where I felt totally out of place…  Not because they made me feel this way but because I realized that I didn’t fit into this group.  Have you ever felt this way?

IMG_1881

They were all “left brains” and I’m more of a “right brain” thinker…

I realized that it was OK that we are different – we don’t have to ALL think alike…

IMG_1891

Or look alike!

IMG_1880

Or create art alike!!

Cheers to being different!  🙂

23 responses to “Face It

  1. Cutting and pasting works well with this technique…it reminds me of those flip face books my kids had.
    I often feel I don’t belong, but I’m just not easy with most other people, especially in groups. I’ve always been that way. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love every one of them and I love your message. You are surely right brained and need to be expressing it freely and to the world You have so much beauty and creativity to share!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am really taken with your faces and I love the way you have divided them among each other. Mix and match. I’m not a good group person myself, and I’ve often felt at odds with people in groups (not outwardly, hitting them kind of at odds! Just inside my head, thinking-wise, kind of at-odds).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Claudia! I had so much fun with this project. Fun to mix things up! 😊 It feels like the older I get, the more I notice everyone trying hard to fit in to groups and I’m sitting there quitely, observing. I understand too about feeling at odds, thinking wise. Thanks for sharing this with me. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. love the left brain right brain! Super creative Jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love your faces and I totally relate, often I don’t fit in with a group because of my perspective is different or for whatever reason. I use to take it negatively that something was wrong with me but all of us have had that experience. People are all different and we should embrace that difference and not let it come between us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, Margaret! 😃 I used to be “put off” by others in a group that are so different from me but now (as I age – perhaps I’m getting a bit wiser? 😉) I see that it is OK that we are different. I see that especially with other artists – we are able to embrace our differences and are more likely to celebrate them. If this makes sense? It was really an eye opener for me yesterday. I left the meeting feeling more confident than when I arrived. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I enjoy how you are always thinking outside the box! Also, On some mornings I resemble some of your creations 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Giggles! I love how well your drawings illustrate your experience with feeling out of place. It made me think of those days when none of my shirts seem to go with any of my pants. Your drawings highlight the awkwardness of people/things not fitting together, but they also show that embracing difference can be cool and interesting. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. they remind me of late period picasso

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jill I’m not taking Lynn Whipple’s class this time around because I knew that I would be so busy this month but I wish that I had. Anyway your posts and Stefanie von Hoesslin’s Facebook posts inspired me to try some of the techniques that I saw in your faces. I’ll be posting some of the grade 3 works of art soon. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This would be a fun technique to try with kids! 💚💜💙 Lynn’s class is loaded with ideas that I haven’t even done them all yet! 😄 You can always take the class later if you want to. Congrats on your retirement from teaching! 👍

      Like

Leave a Reply

