Inspiralized!

Last week, I showed you this pasta salad that contained NO pasta – instead it contained zucchini!  I am totally amazed how GOOD this salad tasted!  Here is another photo of it, if you missed my post, here.

IMG_2264

I had so much fun spiralizing my zucchini for this salad!  I’m now INSPIRALIZED!

IMG_2399

I love this cookbook by Ali Maffucci – she also has a blog, Inspiralized.com

IMG_2401

The recipe I adapted from her cookbook:

For the salad – Prepare in a large bowl:

2-3 medium zucchini  Note:  slice the zucchini about 1/2 inch through on opposite sides before spiralizing – I used the largest blade but any size would work – this just gives your “pasta” a half-moon shape.

1 cup artichoke hearts – I used whole ones in a can as I find them to be the most tender and then I cut them up.

One handful of cherry tomatoes, halved – I don’t measure these but use what I like.

1 cup diced sweet peppers – I used mini orange, red and yellow ones that I had in a bag.

1/4 cup of pepperoncini diced – the recipe called for red onion but I didn’t have any.

1/2 cup cubed Monterey Jack cheese – the recipe called for Provolone

3/4 cup diced salami

1/3 cup whole black olives, sliced in half

For the Salad Dressing – Whisk in a separate bowl:

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 cup lemon juice

1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning or a mixture of dried oregano, basil and parsley

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)

Combine the dressing with the salad ingredients.  Toss to combine.  Refrigerate for at least 15 minutes – I did 2 hours for the zucchini to soften.

Serve chilled.

Enjoy!  🙂

17 responses to “Inspiralized!

  1. ha! I love it! I can’t wait to dust off my spiralizer and check out the book and blog, thanks Jill!
    Jenna

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s so pretty and colorful! I haven’t got a spiralizer, but have curled veggies in an ice water bath. This tool would make that job a lot easier!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was surprised how many spiralizers are on the market! I got one at Costco that doesn’t take up much room by oxo and then I got one on Amazon that has 4 blades and a hand crank which I like a lot better. They are really fun to use and even my hubby likes the veggies this way! 😄👍

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Can’t wait to get spiralizing again! My zucchini plants are just thriving! WOOHOO!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yum! It looks so delicious! I guess it’s time to buy a spiral cutter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

