A Map of Discovery

I made a new discovery with my Gelli-printing yesterday.  I discovered how wonderful old maps take layers of color!  Here are a couple of my favorites:

image

image

Oh, the possibilities!!!  I can’t wait to use them in a collage!

I next discovered that I can print over my own drawings that I did with a fine, black Sharpie pen.  Here are some tree shapes I did:

image

I will probably cut these up and use them in a collage but I am excited to create a drawing that I could possibly draw, print and frame!

I made almost 100 prints yesterday.  Here are a few favorites on 90 lb hot press paper:

image

image

image

And some I did on deli paper:

image

image

image

Do you have a favorite color combination?  I’d love to hear from you!

I hope to show you how I am using some of my prints in a collage soon.

Happy Exploring!  🙂

34 responses to “A Map of Discovery

  1. Patricia G Bleecher

    Wow Jill – a Fabulous Friday. Your prints have inspired me to try something similar. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wowser wow!! These are awesome, Jill!! I love seeing all these awesome prints together. So many wonderful textures and colors. And almost 100?!! You go! That’s soooo cool!! 😍😍😃😃🎨

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow. I love so many of them. Cannot choose. So many possibilities for beautiful Jilly collages and art. Perhaps a cute bird or two ? 😝. Enjoy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Almost 100 prints?! And they’re all wonderful! 💕 Way to make me feel like a slacker. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Really really cool jill!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hello dear Jill, the maps look awesome – I imagine them framed in my living room already 🙂 and the colors you mixed in the prints are suuuuper – would you like to publish a blogpost on Ana’s Learning Lab/ Fellow Learners (http://anaslearninglab.com/category/fellow-learners/) about your process of creating such a print?
    I would love to learn more about it, and I am sure other learning junkies would love it too.
    I would be honoured – what do you say? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Omg! Did you have fun. I love them all! Whatever happens with these creations I know the next step will be awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Innovative discovery, Jill – original! You’ve started a new “thing” here, I think!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your Gelli prints are fantastic and beautiful. Makes me want to run out and buy a kit…until then, I will continue to admire your lovely adventures in color and texture. The ones you did on the maps look like they can go into a frame now, looking forward to seeing what creations develop using the others. You always inspire, thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow you’ve been busy. Is this your focus for the Y is for Yellow class?

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Wow, Jill! Your creativity truly knows no bounds, lady! I have a really hard time choosing. Love the maps! Love the purple and yellow. You are really good at Gelli printing! I can’t believe you made 100. Rock ON, Wild Child!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Wow! 100! I love them all. I’m a big fan of the aqua. With any other color.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Poppies and Sunflowers | Jill's Art Journal

  14. Pingback: Wine And Flowers | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a comment