The Eastern Wahoo Bird

I was recently inspired by Teresa Robeson at One Good Thing, who spoke about the Eastern Wahoo for National Arbor Day.  The name of this plant, also known as a Burning Bush – just sounded like one of my imaginary birds to me!

So here is my imaginary bird, the Eastern Wahoo:

image

I discovered on Wikipedia that the fruit of this specie has also been called, “Hearts Burning with Love,” therefore I added a few hearts to my female bird.

After learning from Teresa that some species of this plant is invasive, I decided to include a Western Wahoo – a bad boy bird of the west:

image

I hope my two weird birds gave you a smile today!  🙂

Happy Weird Bird Wednesday!!

37 responses to “The Eastern Wahoo Bird

  1. Definitely smiles, and I love the stamps too.
    “Hearts Burning with Love”–that’s a song title waiting for a song! (K)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol! 😍 It sounds a little like an Elvis song to me… I love old postage stamps – I just noticed that all the stamps for the E. Wahoo are for 5 cents. I was just looking for Eastern states since this plant grows more in the east and Midwest. Happy you are smiling Kerfe! 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Certainly smiling! Loving the bad boy weird bird! His looks are so deceiving…one look he seems so mean and the next look he seems he just needs a big hug. Here’s a warm, big hug from Manila! Bad boy no bad boy 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yep – that Western Wahoo has bad boy written all over him!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These two are some of your best birds yet, Jill! Honestly, you just keep getting better and better! Really loving the stuff flying off your paintbrush, lady! 💜💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

  5. LOL LOL LOL! I fell in love with Eastern Wahoo (you know how much I adore your crazy birds! It is when I first fell in love with you – haha! Wink!), and then to scroll down and meet Mr badboy Western – toooooo funny!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Smiles and chuckles today Jill. I love how you incorporated the postage stamps in your design. Wahoo!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. They did, I love the bad boy bird. Beautiful collages.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Delightfully smiling over here. Such fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. So cool and love all the different elements, especially the dream weaver-ish necklace on the cute male bird. N.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Yes! See me smile??!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Haha! Wahoo is right! That’s a great way to express the emotion when viewing these awesome birds! Love it, Jill! Definitely smiling! 😃😃😍

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Love your cute Wahoo birds! ❤ Luckily, with plants, the Western Wahoo is not the bad boy…only the Euonymus alatus is bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh the western wahoo is my favorite…..he looks like trouble!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. So joyful and fun, adding the hearts and bad boy gear. Well, I just love the way your female bird’s little claws on her feet curl – I dunno why, I just do. It’s a nice touch!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: 3 Cheers! | Jill's Art Journal

Leave a comment